Tracks sometimes not displayed properly in Music view | Page 2

Discussion in '1.2.x' started by rsbrux, April 9, 2012.

  1. rsbrux
    • Team MediaPortal

    rsbrux Documentation Group

    Joined:
    April 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    67
    Ratings:
    +91 / 1
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
    Show System Specs
    Maybe I spoke too soon about closing the thread. Once again I have an empty display, this time for albums. Coincidentally, there is also a skip in the view definition. Attached are screenshots of MP and of the view definition.
    Probably unrelated, I also have some odd duplications in music views. Attached is a screenshot example, where "J" appears twice. Drilling down from each of the "J"s leads to the same list.
    Let me know if I should start a new thread for this.

    P.S. Unlike the previous case, the empty albums list was not resolved by deleting the skipped level from the view definition.


     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 1, 2012
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. jameson_uk
    • Team MediaPortal

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,403 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Can you change the restriction to 1 instead of 3 and see if you get the same issues?
    I am really struggling to replicate this
     
  4. rsbrux
    • Team MediaPortal

    rsbrux Documentation Group

    Joined:
    April 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    67
    Ratings:
    +91 / 1
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
    Show System Specs
    The symptoms remain unchanged with grouping by 1 letter instead of 3. Since you report difficulty reproducing this, I reproduced it in a debug session in hopes of shedding more light on it. Logs are attached. Thanks for your support!
     
  5. jameson_uk
    • Team MediaPortal

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,403 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Can you upload your music database somewhere and PM me a link?

    I think this is because you have no album artist set and MP does not cope with this very well (but I would like to see your database so I can confirm exactly what is happening)
     
  6. rsbrux
    • Team MediaPortal

    rsbrux Documentation Group

    Joined:
    April 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    67
    Ratings:
    +91 / 1
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
    Show System Specs
    Looking at the DB with SQLite Browser I see a lot of audio books with "| | " in both the strArtist and the strAlbumArtist fields, which seems to be the NULL placeholder in the DB. However, these books have been in my shared directories for a long time without causing problems. Since I rarely use the "Albums" view, I can't be sure, but ISTR having a correct Albums display as recently as MP 1.1. Why would this only cause problems in the Albums view, and not in the Songs view (which, BTW, I would prefer to see called Tracks, as the example with audio books illustrates)?
    Again, many thanks for your support!
     
  7. jameson_uk
    • Team MediaPortal

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,403 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I think I may have broken this with http://mantis.team-mediaportal.com/view.php?id=3719

    Would still help if I can see a copy of your database as will save me trying to generate data for this
     
  8. jameson_uk
    • Team MediaPortal

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,403 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Can you try the attached (rename the existing file in C:\Program Files (x86)\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\plugins\Windows first and replace with this one)
     

    Attached Files:

  9. jameson_uk
    • Team MediaPortal

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,403 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    have you had time to test this yet?
     
  10. rsbrux
    • Team MediaPortal

    rsbrux Documentation Group

    Joined:
    April 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    67
    Ratings:
    +91 / 1
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
    Show System Specs
    Sorry, I only just got around to it. Have been too busy with work to devote any time to MP :-(
    Unfortunately, I don't see any change with the new DLL.
    I will upload my DB and send you a PM.
     
  11. jameson_uk
    • Team MediaPortal

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,403 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    OK got slightly confused as the screenshots are for different views and you have not the one you have posted :eek:

    The two J's looks a fairly uncommon issue in that you have an artist called "J" and one called "J White" so we are getting "J" and "J " back from the database but it seems this then gets trimmed somewhere. I will look at this but it is only an issue if you have an artist where the total length is less than the restriction in the view.

    What I am confused about is the failed drill down though. In the logs I can see
    Code (Text):
    1. 2012-05-06 13:32:54.921875 [Debug][MPMain(1)]: MusicDatabase: GetSongsByFilter - SQL: select distinct * from tracks where  (strAlbum like 'JAC%' or 'JAC%') and strAlbumArtist like '%| unknown |%' group by strAlbum, strAlbumArtist   order by strAlbum asc, Filter: album
    But if I use your album view as posted here and select the JAC entry then this works fine (I get an album called Jackpot).

    Can you explain the exact steps to replicate the issue you are seeing?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!