TSWriter deadlock potential fix. | Page 28

Discussion in 'Area 51 - Testing Area' started by DJBlu, December 21, 2012.

  1. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    With the BSOD... I wonder if the tuner doesn't like being tuned to the same transponder over and over again (when it is already tuned to that transponder). Long shot maybe, but I don't know the history with the 6984. What happens if you delete the now defunct U and Prime channels/tuning-details - does that only delay the BSOD?
    How frequent are the BSODs?

    Okay, this is good - different manifestation of a similar problem with really clean logs. (y)
    Looks like the problem runs back to 00:41 on the 13th:

    Similar to the other thread I linked recently, we see that it looks like TsWriter stopped but something else prevented the graph from fully stopping. As I understand it a filter graph is stopped starting at the renderer(s) and moving back up the filter chain, so something upstream probably failed to stop.

    If we look further back in that TsWriter log we see the BSOD occurred during the previous tune. I can't help but wonder if the hardware was still not happy after the reboot (presumably you didn't do a full power-off and power on?).



    [edit: I note that the presence of MD filters in the graph... well it isn't ideal from a support/policy perspective. This is one situation where they really could potentially be causing issues. Any chance you can live without Sky for a few days and see if the BSODs and "no free cards" keep coming?]
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mcraenz
    • Premium Supporter

    mcraenz MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 28, 2007
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Oh on a production system that's a tough ask. ;) But I take your point. So I would:
    Disable all md stuff but keep the epg grabbing for all sky channels enabled and would I need to move the priority of the DVB-S cards up so they get used for freeview, rather than DVB-T?

    Which prime channels are dead now? I'll clean that up.

    BSODs can be as far apart as 6-10days.

    Last full power off I did was last weekend when I was doing some work in the server cupboard. So that was total loss of power to mobo.
     
  4. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Yeah, understood.

    I think you should try to use the tuners as you would in "normal" conditions. Obviously if you watch a lot of Sky then disabling the plugin will change that radically... which is unfortunate. I'm just not sure how else we can eliminate the plugin. If you were to use only DVB-T then I don't think it would be the end of the world. You could also try stress testing with the DVB-S/S2 tuners on FTA channels.

    Refer to Lyngsat:
    http://www.lyngsat.com/Optus-D1.html
    Regional PRIME feeds are on 12707H.
    ...but actually having said that, maybe if the retuning is causing the BSODs or affecting the deadlocks... maybe you should do one thing at a time. In other words, do the plugin test first then remove these defunct channels later.

    Hmmm, okay - thanks.
    10 days makes it tricky to know if anything you've changed has made a difference.
    Have you always had the BSODs?
    Tried the card(s) with a different mobo?
     
  5. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,296
    Likes Received:
    6,249
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,270 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    If i'm not wrong a quick way to disable MD... is to rename the MDPLUGINS from TVServer root (in Program files) not 100% but i think it does the trick :)
     
    Last edited: October 14, 2013
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. mcraenz
    • Premium Supporter

    mcraenz MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 28, 2007
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    I've had the BSODs since I started using the DVB-S2 again card (when I got sky again in June). I don't think I had any BSODs when I was using the card about a year ago. But I've rebuilt the system since then. So many variables!
    Tonight I'll disable all the md stuff but won't touch anything else and we'll see how it goes. Is it helpful if I stop the TV service and delete all the logs so we've got a clean starting point?
     
  7. mcraenz
    • Premium Supporter

    mcraenz MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 28, 2007
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Ok, well I did that. All CAM settings disabled and md folder renamed. Created a group with just FTA channels and ran test channels with 6 users. And bang BSOD! :-(
    Logs attached. Going to try again now. What I don't get is that when doing the test channels I see the 'All Cards Busy' message as a result of some of the tune attempts. But I've got more cards than I have MUXes so shouldn't that mean I never get 'All Cards Busy'? Or is a timing thing?
     
  8. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Was that what happened at 22:53:17?
    If so, are you sure the BSOD was in the TBS tuner driver, because you had just started a stream on one of the DVB-T tuners.
    You had a really unusual sequence of events:
    1. 22:53:11,658 - scheduler starts process to record Nightline (TV 3) on DVB-T tuner 3015 (first WinFast DTV Dongle Gold tuner) before the service has even completely started.
    2. 22:53:11,984 - TV service finishes loading.
    3. 22:53:13,613 - idle EPG grabber starts process to grab EPG for DVB-S TVNZ U... which it really shouldn't do, because the idle EPG grabber is only meant to run when all tuners are idle
    4. 22:53:14,280 - Nightline recording successfully started
    5. 22:53:14,282 - scheduler starts process to record Dangerous Roads (TV One) on DVB-T tuner 10 (second WinFast DTV Dongle Gold tuner)
    6. 22:53:14,305 - EPG grabber grabbing process starts to be cancelled immediately after run graph and before checking signal as part of Dangerous Roads record start process
    7. 22:53:15,231 - EPG grabber grabbing process successfully cancelled, Dangerous Roads recording process continues
    8. 22:53:17,091 - Dangerous Roads recording successfully started
    9. 22:53:17.212..22:55:38,038 - CRASH!?!

    So the crux of what I'm saying is that TV Server doesn't even appear to have been directly interacting with any tuners at the time of the crash. Two DVB-T recordings were running... and if anything I'd have suspected that WinFast dual USB tuner would have been the cause of the crash.

    I'm not seeing any attempt to test channels... unless that section of the logs is missing due to the BSOD.
     
  9. mcraenz
    • Premium Supporter

    mcraenz MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 28, 2007
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    BSOD is deffinatly in TBS6985_64.sys.

    Must be, Because it was just after firing up test channels that it BSOD'd. Wondering if I should go all the way back to 1.2 and see if all this weirdness is happening back then.
     
  10. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Okay.

    That would be an interesting data point... but it might be less effort to try changing driver versions (if you haven't done so already).
    Did you go through 1.2.3 -> 1.3.0 -> 1.4.0 -> 1.5.0 ... or did you skip one or two steps or try any of the alpha/beta/RC/PR versions?
    Do you remember your update steps for the tuner drivers?

    PS: I'm off to bed, don't wait up for a response. :)]
     
  11. mcraenz
    • Premium Supporter

    mcraenz MP Donator

    Joined:
    July 28, 2007
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    I haven't really kept track of what version of MP I've been using and when to be honest but I think I've only been running stable releases. Upgrading within a week of releases I guess.

    I'm not sure there is an older driver version for the TBS6985, it's a pretty new card. very similar to the 6984 though and exhibiting the same problem. Anyway my testing got set back a bit as we had a power cut today which gave the machine a nice cold boot! Tonight I played with test channels again. All just FTA DVB-S. (MD all disabled still). After a while test channels started returning 'Tune Canceled'. Stopped the test and tried manual control same message popup - 'Tune Canceled'. All the cards are red in manual control. What does the red mean anyway? I know, I should RTFM!

    However I was able to stop and restart the service so probably not the same issue :-(

    I'll let it keep running for a couple of days now and see what happens. (assuming no more power cuts!)

    Logs attached.

    TuneCanceled.JPG
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!