MP2 - Spring'16 - TV Guide - Jumping selection while scrolling

Discussion in 'Older releases' started by Jay_UK, May 28, 2016.

  1. Jay_UK
    • Team MediaPortal

    Jay_UK Test Group

    Joined:
    October 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,781
    Likes Received:
    250
    Occupation:
    Enterprise Architect
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +271 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi there,

    No sure if this is classed as a bug, but....

    Not sure if it's a skin design issue or an actual MP2 issue, but....

    I'm running Bluevision skin with Spring release.

    When scrolling up and down through the channels on the main TV guide, I would expect the highlighted program to stay on the currently selected time. Eg: it's 10:20pm, I scroll from channel 1 to channel 2, I would expect the 10pm program to be highlighted, then when I scroll to channel 3,4,5 each one should have the 10pm program highlighted.

    What I am seeing is a "random" jump/selection of item selections, sometimes the 11pm program is selected, sometimes the actual channel name on the left of the screen.

    Not sure if this is by design or a bug??



    Thanks,

    J.

    ps - It appears it only jumps to the channel name when I am scrolling up through the channel list and not down(?)
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. ge2301
    • Team MediaPortal

    ge2301 MP2 Design

    Joined:
    January 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6,234
    Likes Received:
    1,570
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Automotive Industry
    Location:
    Stuttgart
    Ratings:
    +2,362 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Hi, thanks for testing MP2 and reporting a "potential bug".
    I just tried it in my EPG and could not reproduce it. Would you be so kind and take each 1 screenshot for correct and incorrect case.
    Thanks a lot
     
  4. Lehmden
    • Premium Supporter

    Lehmden Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,877
    Likes Received:
    2,149
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,622 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi.
    I can confirm this, but it can not be shown on screenshot. You most likely need a screen video for this to demonstrate...
    As I'm not completely done with my Win10 migration I'm not able to provide such a video now...
     
  5. breese
    • Premium Supporter

    breese Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,903
    Likes Received:
    325
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Sr. Systems Engineer
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, Illinois
    Ratings:
    +768 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    I can confirm this with every skin I have tried for some time.....
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  6. ge2301
    • Team MediaPortal

    ge2301 MP2 Design

    Joined:
    January 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6,234
    Likes Received:
    1,570
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Automotive Industry
    Location:
    Stuttgart
    Ratings:
    +2,362 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Alright, I have played around a bit more and now I also saw it. This is a bug.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  7. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,070
    Likes Received:
    4,762
    Ratings:
    +6,818 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I have reworked parts of EpgGrid for a better selection of next program. I now compare the start times (current program and all programs in next row) and select the nearest one. This still can lead to "jumps", if a long running program in one row and multiple shorter programs in next row.

    If the current focused program is the running one, then also the running item of next row will be chosen.

    This change also fixes a glitch in scrolling down behavior, the "down" needed to be done twice.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  8. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,070
    Likes Received:
    4,762
    Ratings:
    +6,818 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
  9. osre
    • Premium Supporter

    osre Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 14, 2014
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    229
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software developer (senior)
    Ratings:
    +388 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    I actually have an idea for keybord Focus Change that might improve the prediction which button should be focused next.
    It's hard to explain but I try:
    You add a virtual Cursor Position which is managed at Pixel Level.
    wehen you navigate up it makes a ray cast from this Position up (may be a couple of Pixels wide) and the 1st button hit will get the Focus.
    The vertical Position of this Cursor is then set to the button Center. The horizontal Position of it will not Change.
    By thsi if you go up and down in the EPG and the Shows are shifted in time, you stay at the same time when going up or down multiple rows in a row.
    Does this makes sense?
     
  10. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,070
    Likes Received:
    4,762
    Ratings:
    +6,818 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I think this is the (nearly) way it currently works. Last changes on auto-focus logic was done by @Brownard, so it's better to let him know your ideas as well.

    We had different logic already, considering the center points of current and other controls and used the minimum distance in focus direction.
     
  11. Brownard
    • Team MediaPortal

    Brownard Development Group

    Joined:
    March 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,914
    Likes Received:
    787
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,320 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Yes this is basically how it currently works except that the ray cast is the width of the currently focussed control. The closest control partially within the ray gets the focus, if 2 controls are the same distance away the 1 with the largest width inside the ray gets the focus. I can see how narrowing the ray could improve things although I think it ends up being a trade off depending on the layout. The relevant logic is here if you want to play about with it.

    The reason why I made the ray the width of the control is for cases like the diagram below, if the bottom control has focus which control should get focus when pressing up?
    focus.png
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2016
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!