TV Server 1.15 Pre Release and dedicated MySQL Server

Discussion in 'Television (MyTV frontend and TV-Server)' started by rue, June 7, 2016.

  1. rue
    • Premium Supporter

    rue MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 1, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Hi all!

    I am running MP 1.15 Pre on Windows 10 @64 Bit as a single seat installation -> everything is running fine.

    Now I recognized some performance issues between my KVM virtualizer and the MySQL running at the virtual instance.

    I decided to move the MySQL from the Win 10 virtual instance to the host, where my common MySQL 5.6 is running (DEBIAN Jessie).



    Recording, local handling and so on is still fine, but ... if I access the TV service from my external viewing stations, I got a connect (so far ok) but I am unable to retrieve any kind of data. MP application turns back to config screen (server not available).

    What is wrong?

    From point of communication everything seems fine.
    Firewall is off, Virus recognition software not installed (for the moment).

    Tracing with Wireshark I can see a request to tcp:// Port 31456 TvControll application, a response and some more communication - but I can't decode the response fro my server.

    What can be wrong ... not allowed to have the SQL-Server on a different PC than the TV-Service?

    Thanks for any ideas.

    RUE
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi

    This should be fine as long as the connection configuration is correct.

    Please:
    1. Close MediaPortal (or other software that connects to TV Server, including KODI etc.) on all "clients" (wherever MediaPortal/alternative is installed).
    2. Stop the TV service on "the server" (wherever TV Server is installed).
    3. On "the server", check that the contents - IP address, DB user name, DB user password - of the gentle.config file in c:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal TV Server is correct.
    4. On all "clients", check that the contents - IP address, DB user name, DB user password - of the gentle.config file in c:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal is correct.
    If that doesn't help, make sure that your MySQL Server configuration allows connections from all the clients and server.
    If that doesn't help, provide log files. ;)
     
  4. rue
    • Premium Supporter

    rue MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 1, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Good morning and thanks for the 'kick'.

    I was not arware the client itself has a connection to the DB server instance.
    Finally I had to grant access privileges for the clients.

    Thanks for your help!

    RUE
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!