TV Service taking long while to shutdown, delaying Windows shutdown/reboot | Page 4

Discussion in '1.5.x' started by doveman, July 15, 2013.

  1. michael_t

    michael_t Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    580
    Ratings:
    +813 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I found a solution for the problem which triggers TV Service Stop() on receiving the pre-shutdown message and lets the Windows Service Control Manager know that the tvservice has stopped. The code is based on this blog. I reopened the MP1-3172 issue in JIRA and provided a branch in github (https://issues.team-mediaportal.com...ice_ignores_shutdown_(reopened)/MediaPortal-1).



    Michael
     
    Last edited: November 7, 2013
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 8
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. l337
    • Premium Supporter

    l337 MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 18, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    65
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +77 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    which build I can download and test? thank you michael t
     
  4. ed76
    • Premium Supporter

    ed76 MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 4, 2012
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +14 / 3
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    will this fix be implemented in mp 1.6 pre version?
     
  5. Holzi
    • Team MediaPortal

    Holzi Super Moderator

    Joined:
    April 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7,928
    Likes Received:
    1,591
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ba-Wü
    Ratings:
    +2,228 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    No, but maybe in MP 1.6 Final (once it has been tested). :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
  6. l337
    • Premium Supporter

    l337 MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 18, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    65
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +77 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi

    I have installed 1.6 final the shutdown time is slow i wait 40 seconds and the pc power off....

    I kill the tvserver with taskmanager and than shutdown the pc i wait 7 seconds and pc power off...

    Michael t? Ideas?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    The fix was not included. TV Server is in code freeze and we decided this is not a serious enough problem to make an exception.
     
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
  8. Holzi
    • Team MediaPortal

    Holzi Super Moderator

    Joined:
    April 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7,928
    Likes Received:
    1,591
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ba-Wü
    Ratings:
    +2,228 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Maybe we can post binarys based on MP 1.6.0 for this issue?
    @Sebastiii are you able to do this? :)
     
  9. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,256
    Likes Received:
    6,210
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,211 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    The new branch reserved for it and for help to apply it on TVE35 was deleted by michael (request by elliotmc in internal cleanup git branch forum/thread).
     
  10. l337
    • Premium Supporter

    l337 MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 18, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    65
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +77 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    if I understand correctly, this "error" only solved with TVE 35
     
  11. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,256
    Likes Received:
    6,210
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,211 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    TVE35 didn't have previous fix that trigger the issue, so i would say that it should work correctly.
    But when we will update TVE35 against current master (hope it will be done with no pain lol) then we need to have the shutdown fix on it).
    The PB is that this branch was deleted but we have it in master history :)
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!