TVService (EPG grabbing when idle) preventing Standby | Page 5

Discussion in '1.2.x' started by doveman, January 11, 2012.

  1. doveman

    doveman Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    166
    Ratings:
    +182 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I'm actually using DVB-T Freeview. I could see it was going through the channels when it was doing the grab. I don't know if it grabbed from every single channel as I wasn't watching it but each time I looked at it it was on another channel.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. doveman

    doveman Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    166
    Ratings:
    +182 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Yeah, I meant standby when I said "shutdown for the night", not actually turn it off. ;)

    I don't think people will like the idea of leaving the PC on unnecessarily for 30-60mins when they go to bed, when they can easily put it into standby. I didn't think of setting it to wake to grab the EPG though, so that's an option although I think I'd prefer it to grab the EPG whilst I have it on anyway (which with two tuners shouldn't be a problem even if I'm watching TV all day), rather than letting it wake the PC just for that.
     
  4. doveman

    doveman Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    166
    Ratings:
    +182 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi seco

    I've had to move to my other PC temporarily whilst I move that one into a case. I copied the Mediaportal installation over pretty much except for reinstalling TVServer to make sure it picked up my tuner card OK and I rescanned for channels.

    Anyway, I've noticed there seems to be a bug where the EPG grabber gets all the data from one channel in about 6 minutes but then almost immediately afterwards starts grabbing the data again on another channel and so on as you can see in the attached epg.log. I've reported this bug here https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/threads/dvb-t-freeview-epg-updates-taking-ages.109771/ and perhaps that's what's been causing Legacy Kernel Caller to get stuck on and preventing standby working.

    This is with "Store data only for selected channels" unticked and a selection of channels ticked. I think when I was testing earlier this bug didn't occur when I had "Store data only" ticked, so I'll test with that again.

    Note I don't currently have this PC set to standby so the logs won't show anything useful about that at the moment.
     
  5. doveman

    doveman Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    166
    Ratings:
    +182 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I'm still using my Main PC as the Spare machine I was working on isn't working at the moment. I've set this machine to standby after 30 mins and it's not working again, which seems to be caused by the same old bug with EPG grabbing when idle causing the Legacy Kernel Caller to block standby. Disabling grabbing when idle has made that not show any more when doing powercfg -requests. Anyway, here's some logs.

    I've edited the title to better reflect the cause of the problem as well.

    EDIT: Sorry, had PS++ installed for those logs. I've reinstalled the original PS now. The issue seems to be partly that MP isn't clearing Legacy Kernel Caller after finishing the EPG grab and as described in my other thread, partly that it's ignoring the schedule and repeating the grab sooner than it should and partly that it's grabbing on every channel, taking two hours when it should only grab from one channel taking about 10 minutes, so I don't think PS or PS++ will make any difference.
     
    Last edited: August 26, 2012
  6. DJBlu

    DJBlu Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Llanelli
    Ratings:
    +894 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    TimeshiftingEpgGrabber: channel CBBC Channel is not configured to grab epg.

    If you are using freeview then select BBC One as the channel to grab EPG, de-select all other channels. De-select grab only EPG for selected channels. This will set off the EPG grabber and will grab all data for all the channels.
     
    Last edited: August 26, 2012
    • Like Like x 1
  7. doveman

    doveman Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    166
    Ratings:
    +182 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Thanks, that sounds like it might work. I'll give it a go :)
     
  8. doveman

    doveman Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    166
    Ratings:
    +182 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Cool. That seems to have got it working properly thanks. (y)

    It's a bit confusing that EPG section, as it refers to "Store data only for selected channels" and "Grab EPG for these channels" when it appears to actually mean "Grab EPG using these channels" and does a full EPG grab (i.e all channels) for each channel that's selected, for Freeview at least.

    I see there's a few errors in tvserver_error.log now though, so I'd be grateful if you take a look at those for me.
     
  9. elliottmc
    • Premium Supporter

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    For me, if I don't select 'store data only for selected channels' I don't get any EPG data at all, and I created a mantis entry for this

    - 0003960: [TV-Server Config (SetupTv.exe)] Only grab EPG data for selected channels not working as intended - new.

    However, from what you are saying, this section of SetupTV determines whether a channel is used for grabbing EPG data from.

    Or are we talking about two different sections? I am confused.

    Edit: the relevant wiki page is

    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_...ver_Configuration/05_DVB_EPG/1_TV_EPG_Grabber

    and it has

    "If Store data only for the selected channels is checked, you need to check the channels you want EPG for either one by one or by one of the options in blue on the lower part.
    Usually a provider will send EPG data for all channels from that provider with each channel. This means that you will only need to check one channel from each provider. So checking a channel here will decide which channel you want to retrieve EPG from.
    If the Store data only for the selected channels is unchecked it will store EPG for all channels it find EPG for."

    This actually seems contradictory to me. The first sentence, in red, seems pretty clear that the purpose of this is to only STORE data for the selected channel. However, the second sentence, in blue, seems to state that I only need to check one channel from each provider and it will STORE the EPG data for all channels from that provider.

    Add to this the fact that if I select nothing at all in this section (which is the default setting) then I get no EPG data stored at all, then I really am confused about the purpose of this screen.

    Can someone clarify so that we can properly document how this is intended to work, and to determine whether there is a bug.

    Note that if I don't change the default RADIO EPG settings (nothing selected) then I get EPG for all channels, so there does seem to be something wrong.

    Edit 2: Is radio EPG grabbing/storing working because it is grabbing from a TV channel ? I suspect this is the case.

    Mark
     
    Last edited: August 28, 2012
  10. doveman

    doveman Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    166
    Ratings:
    +182 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Yeah I had the same problem (I think I might have started the thread about it) if that box is unticked and no channels are selected.

    No, it's the same section and it does seem to determine which channel(s) are used for grabbing, rather than which channels data is stored for.

    I've currently got neither "Store data only" or any channels ticked in the Radio EPG section and it's got the data, so it must grab this when doing the TV EPG grab.
     
  11. Triver

    Triver New Member

    Joined:
    January 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    So...has this issue been solved? I read through the whole thread but couldn't really find a definitive answer.

    I have pretty much the same problem as doveman, I can put the PC to sleep fine but he won't do it automatically, even when I quit the client (I'm using version 1.5 btw).
    Only when I manually disable TvService.exe with the TaskManager he goes to sleep after the specified time.

    By looking at the "powercfg -requests" list the only thing listed there is also the "[DRIVER] Legacy Kernel Caller" (and the TvService.exe if any of the specified conditions in the PowerScheduler plugin are met which should be the case if I understand it correctly).
    I added the Legacy Kernel Caller to the "powercfg -requestsoverride" list but that seems to do nothing.

    I can't really confirm that it has something to do with EPG grabbing though, I tried to disable the "grabbing while idle" function and pretty much every other function in relation to EPG grabbing, restarted the PC but the Legacy Kernel Caller still shows up in the powercfg list and he still refuses to go to sleep after the set time.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!