[Proposal] - Update Database after show/movie is watched

Discussion in 'MPExtended' started by mediacowboy, August 8, 2013.

  1. mediacowboy

    mediacowboy Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Support Technician
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    I dont know of this is possible. I think it would be cool not only to detect where i left off on a show but to update the database as well. So for example i watch a show at a episode outside the house and i could come home and media portal know to go to the next one instead of manually changing to the next unmatched episode.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Oxan
    • Premium Supporter

    Oxan Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,730
    Likes Received:
    1,024
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,115 / 2
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    It's something we've tought about, but it's not realistically possible at the moment. We support a lot of different backends (Moving Pictures, MyFilms, MP Videos, etc) and it's a bit challenging to support write access to each database.

    It might happen at some point in the future, but unless someone writes the code, I don't think it'll be added soon.
     
  4. mediacowboy

    mediacowboy Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Support Technician
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Ok, I've downloaded everything to help but haven't had time. Between sick kids and job hunting.
     
  5. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,846 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Workaround: You could just update trakt only using their API. Then all other databases that are sync'd with trakt would update (eventually). I'm not sure what proportion of MPExtended users would have Trakt installed, but I think it's a pretty essential plugin for most powerusers and it tends to be the powerusers that also have mp extended installed, so I would guess most users would have trakt running as well.
     
    Last edited: August 9, 2013
  6. Oxan
    • Premium Supporter

    Oxan Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,730
    Likes Received:
    1,024
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,115 / 2
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    That already happens if you've configured your Trakt account in MPExtended.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!