Update MySQL 5.1 to latest 5.6 version | Page 20

Discussion in 'Area 51 - Testing Area' started by Sebastiii, April 15, 2013.

  1. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,296
    Likes Received:
    6,249
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,270 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Maybe it will be possible to add a menu in deploy to ask user if they want to update MySQL 5.1 to 5.6 with a warning (that it can failed and it will migrate all db from 5.1 to 5.6)

    But in worst case, the 5.1 database is not deleted :)



    If i'm in mood, i can try to look @ the code to add this selection (on upgrade).
     
    • Great Idea! Great Idea! x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. D3ltoroxp
    • Premium Supporter

    D3ltoroxp MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,308
    Likes Received:
    133
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +207 / 9
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    And how Change the old db in the new one ? Export Import ? or is this done by your Setup?
     
  4. elliottmc
    • Premium Supporter

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    All done automatically as far as I know.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,296
    Likes Received:
    6,249
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,270 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    You can always try to export :) (to have another backup)
     
  6. D3ltoroxp
    • Premium Supporter

    D3ltoroxp MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,308
    Likes Received:
    133
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +207 / 9
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    So i think it looks very good and i use now MySQL 5.6 with InnoDB. So all is automaticly switched to the new DB. So i can delet / uninstall the old MySQL 5.1 ?

    After view test all seems to works fine. All TV Channels are there and no error's. So i think i have perfekt update to the new one. Thanks alot !!

    Tomorrow i update then to MP 1.6 final after testing in action tonight.
     

    Attached Files:

    • mysql 5.6.PNG
      mysql 5.6.PNG
      File size:
      37.1 KB
      Uploaded:
      January 1, 2014
      Views:
      151
    • Like Like x 1
  7. netexplorer
    • Premium Supporter

    netexplorer MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 21, 2009
    Messages:
    727
    Likes Received:
    69
    Ratings:
    +101 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Are you shure your tables are in InnoDB format? Have checked this with Workbench?
     
  8. Hawkeye

    Hawkeye Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 29, 2005
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    digital media designer
    Location:
    Halle (Saale)
    Ratings:
    +89 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Just done the upgrade this way yesterday and all worked like a charm ...
     
  9. D3ltoroxp
    • Premium Supporter

    D3ltoroxp MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,308
    Likes Received:
    133
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +207 / 9
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hm i don't know, but the dos window tells me innodb is default... What is workbench ? And how can i check it with that ?
     
  10. Hawkeye

    Hawkeye Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 29, 2005
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    digital media designer
    Location:
    Halle (Saale)
    Ratings:
    +89 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    But that doesn't mean that the tables are innodb. It could be they are (then this installer would have converted them) but most likely they aren't because the db already existed.

    Workbench is a GUI tool for MySQL. But you can also check the tables from cmd by this query:
    Code (Text):
    1. SELECT `TABLE_NAME`, `ENGINE` FROM `information_schema`.`TABLES` WHERE `TABLE_SCHEMA` = 'mptvdb';
     
    Last edited: January 2, 2014
  11. regeszter
    • Premium Supporter

    regeszter Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,335
    Likes Received:
    2,863
    Ratings:
    +5,152 / 18
    Home Country:
    Hungary Hungary
    Here is my solution to migrate the MyISAM to InnoDB:

    1. Stop the TvServer service
    2. Open a command promp and go to the MySql 5.6 folder: cd "\Program Files\MySQL\MySQL Server 5.6\bin"
    3. mysqldump -u root -pMediaPortal mptvdb>c:\mptvdb.sql
    4. open the c:\mptvdb.sql with notepad and replace all MyISAM texts to InnoDB, save it and exit
    5. mysql mysql -u root -pMediaPortal <c:\mptvdb.sql
    6. Start the TvServer service
     
    • Like Like x 3
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!