1.15.0 - Updating Dedicated TVE setup, set TV-service to "manual" start

Discussion in 'Archive' started by azzuro, October 12, 2016.

  1. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,345
    Likes Received:
    2,425
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,077 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    MediaPortal Version: 1.15.0

    Description
    Hello.

    First all,
    my system has MP2-server installed on the same machine ( maybe related or not ).
    the TVE of MP2 is removed of the mp2-server, so not conflict with MP1-TVE



    So, about "the bug",
    on an update of MP TVE, on my dedicated server,
    after the MP upgrade, TVE is always set for start manually, instead of Automatic.
    i must always, change this after setup.

    Steps to Reproduce:
    run setup, on dedicated server, maybe with MP2-server installed and started.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,345
    Likes Received:
    2,425
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,077 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
  4. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,518
    Likes Received:
    4,730
    Ratings:
    +8,196 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    No.

    You can see the Windows system event log for yourself:
    "12/10/2016 19:10:38";"Service Control Manager";"(0)";"Information";"Un service a été installé sur le système. Nom du service : TVService Nom du fichier de service : "C:\Program Files (x86)\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal TV Server\TVService.exe" Type de service : service en mode utilisateur Type de démarrage du service : Démarrage à la demande Compte de service : LocalSystem";"1073748869"

    I don't know why the startup type is on demand.
    TV Server uses default service installation/configuration parameters, so the startup type should be automatic.
    In fact, people have previously complained that they set the startup type to manual, and after MP update the startup type was set back to automatic.
    So, I can only guess that your system (Windows) is configured to set the startup type to manual/on-demand for newly installed services.
     
  5. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,518
    Likes Received:
    4,730
    Ratings:
    +8,196 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Installer installs the service with startup type manual/on-demand and no DB service dependency:
    MediaPortal-1/ProjectInstaller.Designer.cs at master · MediaPortal/MediaPortal-1 · GitHub

    Installer then runs SetupTv.exe which opens the DB connection config window. After you confirm the DB connection details, SetupTv.exe adds the TVService DB service dependency and changes the startup type to automatic:
    MediaPortal-1/ServiceHelper.cs at master · MediaPortal/MediaPortal-1 · GitHub

    SetupTV log file says:
    [2016-10-12 19:10:41,969] [Log ] [SetupTv ] [INFO ] - SetupDatabaseForm: DB service name not recognized - using defaults

    This means that you didn't enter the correct name for the MySQL service. As a result, the DB service dependency and startup type change would be skipped.

    In short: it looks like the problem is your own fault. ;)
     
  6. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,345
    Likes Received:
    2,425
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,077 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    hum,, need to investigate on this directon, but when setup MP2 server, it install it as Automatic statup...

    pfff, always me lol
     
  7. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,345
    Likes Received:
    2,425
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,077 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Yep, it don't want update the Dependancy
    the actual setting -> the new setting.
    upload_2017-4-18_12-20-14.png upload_2017-4-18_12-20-39.png

    it don't want save the new dependancy setting !
    (at least clicking on save, seems work, but starting TVservice, return to the old value )
     
  8. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,518
    Likes Received:
    4,730
    Ratings:
    +8,196 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    The dependency is not saved as a setting.
    When the DB connection config window is opened, it assumes you use the default service name (either MySQL5 for MySQL or SQLBrowser for SQL Server).
    When you save, the dependency is added to the TV service.
    That's all.
    If you're using a non-default service name (eg. MySQL56), you just have to make sure that you enter that service name before saving.
     
  9. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,345
    Likes Received:
    2,425
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,077 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    i try to rename the mysql servicename for corresponding to MP, i hope not break anything ..
     
  10. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,345
    Likes Received:
    2,425
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,077 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
  11. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,518
    Likes Received:
    4,730
    Ratings:
    +8,196 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    I don't think you've understood me.
    If you want the TV service to start automatically after installation, you need to make sure you enter the correct DB service name.
    That's all I'm saying about that.


    I don't know what you're talking about.
    TeamViewer?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!