Wakeup from standby | Page 3

Discussion in 'Improvement Suggestions' started by Anonymous, July 21, 2004.

  1. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I've found a very simle API to make the system hibernate.
    I made a try in VB6 but I guess it will run in .net to.

    ------- code used on a form in VB ----------
    Private Declare Function SetSuspendState Lib "Powrprof" (ByVal Hibernate As Long, ByVal ForceCritical As Long, ByVal DisableWakeEvent As Long) As Long


    Private Sub cbSleep_Click()
    SetSuspendState 1, 0, 0
    End Sub
    ------------------------------------------



    Tonight I will try to setup the environment to build MP to see if any of this hibernate/resume works for real. It might take a while to figure out enough of how MP is constructed but I will give it a try.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi Forbes and others.

    Now I've made the first implementation in MP of this hibernate and resume on timer things.

    And YES! it works!

    I made the changes for this test in the source of version 0.0.0.10 so it will have to be rewritten in a later version. This is just for testing and I'm sure frodo would do a much better implementation knowing all about the inner secrets of MP.


    This is what I've done to the program so far:
    - Changed the shutdown action to hibernate instead of shuting down system.

    - Added a WaitableTimer, which is set by the OnRecordingChanged() event.

    These changes makes it possible to hibernate system by clicking the shutdown button in the MCE home.

    Computer then resumes one minute before the recording is due to start.

    So, are there anymore people besides forbes and myself that are still interrested in these features?
     
  4. tomtom21000
    • Premium Supporter

    tomtom21000 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +64 / 0
    Hey fred, this is one of the few core features of a htpc that mp still misses!
    Hope to see it in a release in the near future.

    tomtom21000
     
  5. FlipGer
    • Premium Supporter

    FlipGer Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,658
    Likes Received:
    115
    Location:
    Leipzig, Germany
    Ratings:
    +115 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi,

    jep. I, and many others i think, am also very interested in this feature. :)

    Keep on going. Just tell frodo what you have done. (IRC for example)

    Flip.
     
  6. johnbobjamesson

    johnbobjamesson Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 17, 2004
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Crailsheim
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Fantastic! That is a definite must on any htpc system. Thanks for your effort!

    J.
     
  7. Schrauber

    Schrauber Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 22, 2004
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    And yes, I'm interested in this feature too.
     
  8. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    OK, there seem to be some interest after all.
    Thanks for the support.

    I will try to get the MP team's attention and se if we could work something out this weekend or in the near future.
     
  9. MrMario64
    • Premium Supporter

    MrMario64 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 22, 2004
    Messages:
    822
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    you really should write a nice patch and post this on the SF Patch area.

    Good job on this feature!
    thanx
     
  10. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi,
    READY FOR TESTING!

    I've now posted a patch for download on SF.
    I must warn you that it's Beta and I wouldn't rely on it yet for recording your favotite show.

    In order to get the shutdown button in the MCE skin to work as hibernate you will have to rebuild the application in VC#.net using supplied source.

    To get the wakeup functionality just copy the two dlls into your MP folder.

    Good luck - and lets hope it will make it into CVS soon.
     
  11. johnbobjamesson

    johnbobjamesson Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 17, 2004
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Crailsheim
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ok, I just added you to the list of my personal heros. Right after frodo, of course ;-) I scheduled a recording and MP actually went out of S3 Standby. I haven't tried hibernate, yet, but I don't need that too much, anyway. Thank you for making my day!

    J.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!