Weird sleep/resume loop

Discussion in 'General Support' started by RobNorthcott, March 31, 2019.

  1. RobNorthcott
    • Premium Supporter

    RobNorthcott MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 9, 2007
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    44
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Developer
    Location:
    Dartmoor, England
    Ratings:
    +92 / 2
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Sometimes my media machine will go into a sleep/resume loop for no apparent reason. It wakes up when nothing is set to record so PowerScheduler just puts it back to standby after a few minutes, then it wakes up again and repeats that loop sometime for half an hour. Then it'll behave normally for a couple of days before the same thing happens again.

    I'm wondering whether PowerScheduler is somehow wrongly setting the wakeup time (because of a corrupt schedule or something), although I can't see anything in the log about it setting wakeup time.

    The other possibility is that something else is waking the PC up and it's nothing to do with MP at all.



    This morning I managed to catch it doing this and took some logs.

    If anybody can see anything in the logs that explains what's going on then I'd be very grateful :)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. RobNorthcott
    • Premium Supporter

    RobNorthcott MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 9, 2007
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    44
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Developer
    Location:
    Dartmoor, England
    Ratings:
    +92 / 2
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I've just noticed in the Windows event log that it says "wake source Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller" when this is happening. Didn't notice that before. There is sometimes an event log that says "wake source TvService.exe" so I assume those are the normal scheduled recording wakeup events.

    Looks like it's some sort of wake on lan problem then I think... I do use WOL, so I need it to wake on magic packets, but I wonder if the BIOS is somehow set to wake on other network traffic... will investigate...
     
  4. RobNorthcott
    • Premium Supporter

    RobNorthcott MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 9, 2007
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    44
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Developer
    Location:
    Dartmoor, England
    Ratings:
    +92 / 2
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Just realised there's a setting in Windows for "only wake with magic packet", which wasn't set. Hopefully that will fix it.
     
  5. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,549
    Likes Received:
    488
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +898 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Your lan setting seems the most likely cause of the problem.

    However, I thought that I would mention that I have noticed my HTPC waking when there was nothing to record. Significantly, it wakes at the time of a scheduled recording that I had cancelled. Typically this is for a series, where an episode is repeated multiple times and I manually cancel the repeats. Mostly there is no problem, but very occasionally I get this unnecessary wake.

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. RobNorthcott
    • Premium Supporter

    RobNorthcott MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 9, 2007
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    44
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Developer
    Location:
    Dartmoor, England
    Ratings:
    +92 / 2
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Thanks @CyberSimian , I'm pretty convinced it was the lan doing it now - hopefully setting it to "magic packet only" will sort it out. I'd been looking through the MP logs trying to find out if PowerScheduler was doing the waking up, then realised the Windows event log showed the reason for wakeup. I reckon it was probably happening when there was a lot of other traffic on my lan and something probably triggered the media PC to wake up - hopefully it won't any more.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!