[confirm] - Why oh Why :( Read() no open file | Page 5

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1.2.0 ALPHA' started by mylle, January 20, 2011.

  1. tompa
    • Premium Supporter

    tompa MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 3, 2005
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Ok,
    well its easy to shift between them for testing so why not :)
    Just disable mp-server and install Argus. You will have two separate db and you can shift in between them!
    Of course you also have to switch client by enabling or disabling ftr-client under mp-config.



    Let me know if you need some more assistance!
    /tompa
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mylle

    mylle Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 14, 2005
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Denmark
    Ratings:
    +68 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Why did you switch to Argus? stability? features?

    Thanks for you help :)

    /Jacob
     
  4. tompa
    • Premium Supporter

    tompa MP Donator

    Joined:
    October 3, 2005
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    Mainly for the scheduling features and webinterface in ftr, and the installation is much easier if you take the whole pakage ;)

    /tompa
     
  5. pilehave
    • Premium Supporter

    pilehave Community Skin Designer

    Joined:
    April 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566
    Likes Received:
    500
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical consultant, marketing
    Location:
    Hornslet
    Ratings:
    +517 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Hi mylle. Did your problem go away, and did you test 4TR? If so, was it better?
     
  6. mylle

    mylle Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 14, 2005
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Denmark
    Ratings:
    +68 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Hi Pilehave,

    Nope. Same issue, even with Owlsroosts latest tsreader changes :( Never got around to trying out 4TR.

    Im back using RTSP which is stable but slow when changing channels.

    /Mylle
     
  7. gibman
    • Premium Supporter

    gibman Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,998
    Likes Received:
    1,321
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Aarhus
    Ratings:
    +1,372 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    I'm no expert at tsreader / tswriter.

    but during TS buffer file roll-over, shouldn't tsreader have a minimum period of time where it waits for the new ts buffer file to appear before giving up ?
    It seems it gives up too soon ???
    I know miroslav did some changes in tswriter making sure those buffer files were created in time.
    I guess one timeshift buffer file would fix this :)

    Also, did anyone look into SMB2 settings ?
    http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Fo...s/thread/832d395b-6e6f-4658-8dbb-120138a4cd7c

    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ff686200(v=ws.10).aspx

    I've seen first hand experiences where creating a file locally on a shared drive, does not appear on the client using this share... not until several seconds later.

    /gibman
     
  8. pilehave
    • Premium Supporter

    pilehave Community Skin Designer

    Joined:
    April 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566
    Likes Received:
    500
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical consultant, marketing
    Location:
    Hornslet
    Ratings:
    +517 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    IIRC I have disabled SMB2, because it was one of the things I tried to rule out back when I started suffering from this issue. We watch very little live TV (records almost everything we watch), but I have not seen (or searched for) this issue for long. Will try and check if it appears in my logs in the near future.
     
  9. mylle

    mylle Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 14, 2005
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Denmark
    Ratings:
    +68 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    I guess i could try to disable SMB2 but as my server is also a file server will this not have a negative effect on file transfer speeds?

    EDIT: It looks like it would be sufficient just to disable SMB2 on the client as it will fall back to SMB1 if SMB2 cannot be negotiated between client and server. I will definately try that.
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2012
  10. pilehave
    • Premium Supporter

    pilehave Community Skin Designer

    Joined:
    April 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566
    Likes Received:
    500
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical consultant, marketing
    Location:
    Hornslet
    Ratings:
    +517 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Which OS'es are they running?
     
  11. mylle

    mylle Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 14, 2005
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Denmark
    Ratings:
    +68 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!