Win10 falls creators update problems watching videos | Page 2

Discussion in 'General Support' started by joker1639, October 15, 2017.

  1. larry_S
    • Premium Supporter

    larry_S MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    93
    Ratings:
    +149 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    For me, the problem has been done by activating "Dynamic Refresh Rate > Use device reset".


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. joker1639

    joker1639 Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 1
    Did you experience the same problem without having device reset activated?
    I don't know 100% but i am pretty sure I tried both options.
     
    Last edited: October 20, 2017
  4. joker1639

    joker1639 Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 1
    Anybody else expiriencing Problems with the falls creators update?

    Cheers
     
  5. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,131 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I updated a laptop to Win 10 1709 (fall creators update) and tested both MP 1.16 and 1.18 (playing live TV).

    No problems with playback (note - refresh rate changer was not enabled). Intel CPU and GPU.
     
  6. joker1639

    joker1639 Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 1
    Ok thanks!

    Maybe i will try it again this evening. So it seems that the critical setting is within the refreshrate changer.
     
  7. joecrow
    • Team MediaPortal

    joecrow Test Group

    Joined:
    August 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,495
    Likes Received:
    717
    Ratings:
    +1,201 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    No problem for me also after updating my Desktop PC. Tested with TV, vids and OV, all OK but I'm using Madvr which does its own refresh rate changing, so the MP refresh changer is disabled.
     
  8. larry_S
    • Premium Supporter

    larry_S MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    93
    Ratings:
    +149 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Last edited: October 21, 2017
  9. mrkk

    mrkk Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 14, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    Hi all,

    I just installed two new clients with Fall Creators update in it and I am experiencing this symptom. Live TV and recorded tv works just fine. But any other video-content WHEN using dynamic refresh change brings black screen after video content is different refresh rate and mp does the change. When you press Ctrl-Alt-Del and escape from that screen you get your video back and can start watching...

    Is this something to do with DirectX ?
     
  10. joecrow
    • Team MediaPortal

    joecrow Test Group

    Joined:
    August 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,495
    Likes Received:
    717
    Ratings:
    +1,201 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Just a quick update, I have rolled back to 1703 following a number of very intermittent hangs, just 3 times this week, (nothing to do with MP which was not not running at the time), everything just frooze, no mouse,keyboard, and CAD did not function, had to hit the power button!:(
     
  11. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,131 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Just updated my HTPC (Intel GPU, latest drivers) to Win 10 1709 - now getting black screen on MP after resume from sleep...

    Doing something to 'refresh' the screen e.g. hitting the 'Windows' key, fixes it.

    It looks like MS have changed something in the way displays are handled.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!