Windows 10 - Is it worth upgrading for a MP HTPC?

Discussion in 'Operating System' started by robbo100, August 2, 2015.

  1. robbo100
    • Premium Supporter

    robbo100 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    285
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Herding Cats
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +322 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi all,

    I have a Win 7 client and a Win 8 server PC.

    With all the hype of Windows 8, I was wondering if I should just stick with what I have got, or should I upgrade?

    The Window's 8 installation is really annoying, so I was considering upgrading that one, but what about the Windows 7?

    Cheers

    Robbo100


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Rick164
    • Super User

    Rick164 Super User

    Joined:
    January 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335
    Likes Received:
    918
    Ratings:
    +1,359 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    If you're using it only as an HTPC there's no real reason to upgrade from Windows 7 except maybe losing the dreadful Aero engine, image quality difference is debatable and don't notice the difference if any.

    Audio and hardware management has improved since 8.1 so there's that, SSD performance has improved because Windows 7 wasn't build with that in mind but for normal HTPC solutions I doubt you will notice it.

    Microsoft is gonna support Windows 7 till 2020 so plenty of time to get Windows 10 sorted out, currently there are a number of issues that they're still fixing ranging from usability to just poor design choices.
    Only reason I upgraded to Windows 10 myself because it's an all round machine for gaming / browsing / htpc, otherwise would have stuck with 8.1.
     
    Last edited: August 6, 2015
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  4. robbo100
    • Premium Supporter

    robbo100 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    285
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Herding Cats
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +322 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    FYI, in case anyone is wondering if it works OK.

    I got fed up getting continual messages to upgrade (and the fix I used to get rid of the messages didn't work), so I installed Windows 10 on my Server this morning.

    All works fine so far.
     
  5. Rick164
    • Super User

    Rick164 Super User

    Joined:
    January 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335
    Likes Received:
    918
    Ratings:
    +1,359 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Nice, would disable the automatic update install if it's a dedicated HTPC:

    http://www.howtogeek.com/224471/how-to-prevent-windows-10-from-automatically-downloading-updates/

    Currently Microsoft can just push updates to your machine if they want to and reboot automatically at a time the machine thinks it's ok which is 4:00 here most of the time when it's turned off...
    Either way to keep your machine stable and free of unexpected bugs in updates / drivers would keep it manual or at a fixed date / time so you know it will update something.
     
    Last edited: January 25, 2016
  6. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,485
    Likes Received:
    2,543
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,215 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    hello guy's,

    i have moved my main htpc to win10, few week ago, all worked fine except :
    - My graphic card, AMD don't provide anymore drivers for legacy product (HD4600) but Windows update contain an working driver but without Vidéo setting.
    - My HTPC can freeze if i keep an CD inside the optical drive on resume.
    - about Atmolight, the USBDeview must be set with admin rights, without this not possible to use AtmoWakeHelpers. ( For Rick )

    excepted this issue, all work fine. at least for me. but i use MePo as shell replacement, so all windows stuff are not displayed.
     
  7. Rick164
    • Super User

    Rick164 Super User

    Joined:
    January 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335
    Likes Received:
    918
    Ratings:
    +1,359 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    AtmoWakeHelper issue might be fixable, we're using USBDeview 2.45 however in 2.46 they added an option to run it as administrator.
    Will dig into the docs to see if that can be passed into the command line arguments :)

    // Update

    No option to run it as administrator directly without getting a prompt :(
    Only way around it is to set the USBDevice.exe properties and tick the "Run as administrator" manually once which you can't do automatically (for good reason), damn Windows and its silly COM device restrictions :p
     
    Last edited: January 25, 2016
    • Like Like x 2
  8. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,485
    Likes Received:
    2,543
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,215 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
  9. Rick164
    • Super User

    Rick164 Super User

    Joined:
    January 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335
    Likes Received:
    918
    Ratings:
    +1,359 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
  10. lisag
    • Premium Supporter

    lisag Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    March 3, 2012
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    115
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Social Work
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +183 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Out of interest, do you folks just run an upgrade from previous OS and leave it at that?

    Or, do you do that to get the activation then format the hard drive and do a clean Windows 10 install (eg from a usb stick)?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Rick164
    • Super User

    Rick164 Super User

    Joined:
    January 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335
    Likes Received:
    918
    Ratings:
    +1,359 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Clean install without format so that it moves old files to Windows.old, normally only format if I really need a completely clean machine (workstations mostly).
    Windows and upgrades don't go very well in general especially with Windows 10 where there were a lot of mixed results :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!