Windows 7 Guide / Tips and Tricks

Discussion in 'Operating System' started by mickyblue, August 15, 2009.

  1. mickyblue

    mickyblue Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi guys

    ive just spent the day upgrading my HTPC with a new SSD and blu ray disc and in doing so installed windows 7 to take full advantage of the SSD

    while doing this i took down a few notes on how i got things working mainly taken from all over the forums and my own knowledge etc so though id share them with everyone to hoepfully save others some time

    am slowly working on a new install guide for windows 7 and Mediaportal 1.1.0 so its a work in progress and of course is based on my personal setups and preferences i by no means proclaim to know it all but thought id share what ive learnt over the years of using mediaportal

    Installation Manual

    Updated as of 05/09/2009

    when i installed the RTM version of Windows 7 i have reverted to the 32bit version though, no real reason i wasn't having any issues with the 64bit RC1 however with only 2GB of memory there really was no need for it, so by sticking with the 32bit for my setup hopefully i wont come across any issues either.

    On a positive note: i have found the the RTM version of windows 7 is actually noticeably faster than the RC1 so far its been just as easy as my old XP setup. i am waiting on new TV cards though so at this stage havnt tested the TV server


    Cheers



    Mickyblue

    :D
     
    • Like Like x 5
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. 1stdead

    1stdead Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,089
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    Ratings:
    +139 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Great very useful when updating to win7 in the near feature. Great work :)

    Btw. are you using IRSS?
     
  4. mickyblue

    mickyblue Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Nope i tried it originally to see if i could use it to get the green button to launch MP but it didnt help, my remote control has been working fine right from the start just with MP 1.1.0 alpha and ticking MCE in the remote section of the config
     
  5. chemelli
    • Team MediaPortal

    chemelli Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    September 28, 2006
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,126
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Activation Manager - Cloud Services
    Location:
    Trento, Italy
    Ratings:
    +1,127 / 0
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    What remote are you using ? Please try latest build or IRSS, seems like we solve so many issues :p

    About your guide, in 3rd party section you have an option to disable MCE services with a policy ;)

    Simone
     
  6. mickyblue

    mickyblue Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    just the standard Microsoft MCE remote.

    the easiest way to delete/remove mce in windows 7 is simply via the add / remove windows features but be leaving it installed you can use its ehtray.exe to launch mp via the green button
     
  7. mickyblue

    mickyblue Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Have just embedded a youtube video in my website that shows what my HTPC looks like booting, shows how much / little of windows you see with the tips used here,

    also shows the speed with which the pc boots and loads mediaportal the first 13 seconds is bios controlled so cannot be altered so actual windows and mediaportal loading time is only about 40 seconds

    total time from pressing power button to watching media less than 60 seconds :)
     
  8. zicoz
    • Premium Supporter

    zicoz MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 3, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    53
    Ratings:
    +60 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    What version of windows 7 is needed for a stand alone TVserver? Can I run it on the starter edition, or do I need one of the other?
     
  9. pilehave
    • Premium Supporter

    pilehave Community Skin Designer

    Joined:
    April 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566
    Likes Received:
    500
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical consultant, marketing
    Location:
    Hornslet
    Ratings:
    +517 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    If you want to run a dedicated TV-Server I would suggest Windows XP unless you need more than the (max) 4 GB RAM. Total RAM-usage with XP can be below 150 MB with TV-Server and SQL-server loaded.

    But, if you want 7 then I don't see why Starter shouldn't be usable, only limit I can think of was the (now gone) 3-programs-at-a-time-thing.
     
  10. zicoz
    • Premium Supporter

    zicoz MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 3, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    53
    Ratings:
    +60 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    I used to use XP, but I had to run the fix "all the time" and it got tiering.
     
  11. mickyblue

    mickyblue Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    personall i hant used the starter addition but i would think it was to light on media features to be of any use as a tv server the other issue is how you obtain a license as from what i understand it is only available to OEM's to ship preinstalled on low spec machines.


    i have just obtained Windows 7 RTM x64 so once i have upgraded my notebook and workstation and tested everything will also be updating my HTPC with the RTM version,

    Windows 7 is by far the best OS microsoft has produced and well worth the investment and one you will not regret

    thats my two cents anyway
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!