Windows 7 Guide / Tips and Tricks | Page 2

Discussion in 'Operating System' started by mickyblue, August 15, 2009.

  1. pilehave
    • Premium Supporter

    pilehave Community Skin Designer

    Joined:
    April 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566
    Likes Received:
    500
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Technical consultant, marketing
    Location:
    Hornslet
    Ratings:
    +517 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    It sure is, but my current W7 install is using 2,34 GB RAM...I know about readyboost and sowhat, but my point is that this big machinery is not neccesary to run 2 local processes and a harddrive (which TV-Server really is).


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. zicoz
    • Premium Supporter

    zicoz MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 3, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    53
    Ratings:
    +60 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Recently bought myself a technet + subscription so I have 10 licenses for each version.
     
  4. Ventry

    Ventry Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 19, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    9
    Ratings:
    +9 / 1
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    Show System Specs
    @ Mickeyblue

    What EPG grabber are you using with MP 1.1 Alpha???

    Cheers
    Leon
     
  5. mickyblue

    mickyblue Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi Leon

    At this stage i havent tried setting up the EPG, i dont use live tv much through mediaportal
     
  6. mickyblue

    mickyblue Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Updated Original Post and Guide after installing Windows 7 RTM 32bit
     
  7. lazlong

    lazlong Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Hi Leon
    I recommend guidedigger. Do a search for angusmann to use. It can also be found using Google and searching "guidedigger".

    Works bloody well for us Aussie's.
     
  8. dir
    • Premium Supporter

    dir MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 30, 2006
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +40 / 0
    Home Country:
    Afghanistan Afghanistan
    Show System Specs
    Could you post a direct link to this video? I couldn't find it browsing your site.
     
  9. lazlong

    lazlong Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Some notes on my Windows 7 install using TV in Australia

    Add this to your guide:
    In TV server configuration, under additional 3rd party checks DO NOT "enable policy to prevent services startup". This will stop the green button working when you change the ehome.exe file.

    I have an Antec Fusion case and a cheap irock ($30) remote. iMon uses the IR receiver in the LCD but the USB works exceptionally better with longer range. You can not turn off the remote in iMon and I wanted the LCD to show information - really handy having a bar showing percentage of movie/tv left. I had to dismantle the front of the case and put masking tape over the IR receiver. Works well now.

    EPG - guidedigger for us Aussies is great and relatively easy to use. Getting started is a bit of effort creating the xmltv stuff and I wish I documented that.

    Probably also a good idea to change the recording pathname in tv server configuration. It used to default to name\name-blah. On mine the actual recorded TV names came up as unknown etc until I changed it.

    Will add more as I go. Thanks for the guide - was really helpful.

    P.S. I used SAF for codecs.
     
  10. Mr.Wifi

    Mr.Wifi Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 26, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Düsseldorf
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Is it possible to assign two different h264 codecs in win7 like core avc for video and power dvd 9 h264 / microsoft codec for hdtv ?

    How do you handle the refreshrate change in win7 ? Afaik MP´s changer don´t work within win7 and reclock doesn´t work for me and spdif output ( stuttering, missing words etc. )

    Thx in advance :)
     
  11. Chuckyy

    Chuckyy Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 17, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi,

    ive got an issue with remote desktop (rdp) in Windows Seven.
    Ive configured concurrent sessions by the guide from missing-remote.com, so I can run MP and log into a second account doing different stuff.
    But everytime I log remotely into a second account, Mediaportal gets minimized in the main account.

    Anyone else experiencing this issue or know how to get rid of it?

    Thanks, Chuckyy
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!