Xmltv set big hassle for a newb | Page 3

Discussion in 'Tips and Tricks' started by Anonymous, July 7, 2004.

  1. waeberd

    waeberd Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 16, 2004
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fribourg (CH)
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Hi,
    I wouldn't save the UPDATE.BAT in the Program files directory!
    Better save it in your xmltv-Directory
    (eg c:\program files\xmltv-0.5.34-win32)
    If you open the command screen as you described, simply type UPDATE, hit Enter and.... wait :) !

    This should generate a TVGUIDE.XML file in your xmltv directory. Does that work?



    Cheers,

    Daniel
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
     
  4. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Well, I see I quoted within the quote, making things rather difficult to see. Anyway, my command prompt does not recognoze "update" as a command.

    Steve
     
  5. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    okay. A multipart question.
    I want to do a fresh install of everything.
    I've removed MediaPortal, along with the TeamMediaPortal files.

    So, assuming I get the "update.dat" to work:
    1. I want to delet all the xmltv information that I created (In my earlier frustrations I think I might have mucked up the parts I initially did correctly, step #2 above)
    1a. Is it as easy as simply deleting the files in "program files/xmltv..." so that I can start fresh again?
    2. I cannot get the "auto" radio button to work in TV tuner configuration step (I'm using a hauppauge pvr25mce as my tv card). Everything seems to go well, as I see the frequencies for video and audio and the "1" with a hit and "0" with a miss, but when I o.k. out of the dialogue box there are no channels. When I try to add them mannually there are no frequencies.


    Thanks in advance
    Steve
     
  6. waeberd

    waeberd Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 16, 2004
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fribourg (CH)
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    This must work! :D
    "Reinstalling everything" does not change this problem.

    Let's try:
    in the command-prompt where you type the UPDATE command:
    type DIR and hit enter:
    Is there a file UPDATE.BAT?
    Notepad sometimes renames this file to UPDATE.BAT.TXT.
    Make sure that there is a "update.bat" in this directory and retype
    the UPDATE command.....

    Hope that helps....

    Daniel
     
  7. waeberd

    waeberd Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 16, 2004
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fribourg (CH)
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Yeah, this is kind of misleading.
    You have to enter the frequencies manually!
    Be sure to enter them in HERTZ, so if the frequency is stated
    as "67.25 MHz", just enter it as "67250000".
    The Hauppauge channel search can be called, seems to work, but doesn't save anything useful for Mediaportal (if I got that correctly).

    Try to enter frequencies manually......

    HTH
    Daniel
     
  8. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Daniel,
    Here's what I have:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Steve>c:\program files\xmltv-0.5.34-win32
    'c:\program' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Steve>cd c:\program files\xmltv-0.5.34-win32

    C:\Program Files\xmltv-0.5.34-win32>dir
    Volume in drive C is MAIN DISK 1
    Volume Serial Number is 305E-02CD

    Directory of C:\Program Files\xmltv-0.5.34-win32

    09/04/2004 06:56 AM <DIR> .
    09/04/2004 06:56 AM <DIR> ..
    09/04/2004 05:25 AM <DIR> .xmltv
    09/04/2004 05:18 AM <DIR> doc
    05/23/2004 03:22 PM 3,921 README
    05/23/2004 03:22 PM 4,782 README.tv_check
    09/04/2004 05:18 AM <DIR> share
    09/04/2004 06:57 AM 54 update.bat.txt
    05/23/2004 03:22 PM 22,466 xmltv.dtd
    05/23/2004 06:01 PM 6,275,134 xmltv.exe
    5 File(s) 6,306,357 bytes
    5 Dir(s) 4,697,853,952 bytes free

    C:\Program Files\xmltv-0.5.34-win32>update
    'update' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Program Files\xmltv-0.5.34-win32>update.bat.txt

    C:\Program Files\xmltv-0.5.34-win32>update
    'update' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Program Files\xmltv-0.5.34-win32>


    As you can see, there is an update file, but it doesn't "run" when I try to run it by typing "update".

    Ideas?
     
  9. waeberd

    waeberd Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 16, 2004
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fribourg (CH)
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Yes. Notepad adds the file extension "TXT" to the file, which is crap!

    Type the following command (in the same prompt where you get that DIR listing):
    Code (Text):
    1. ren update.bat.txt update.bat
    and hit ENTER.

    If you redo a DIR command you have to get a "update.bat" file (without the .TXT trail).

    Now the UPDATE command should run the script....

    Cheers,

    Daniel
     
  10. Anonymous

    Anonymous Guest

    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Daniel,
    Thanks! That did it. I wondered whether the problem was the update.dat.TEXT deal -- even tried rename it without the .txt extension -- but I had absolutely no idea how to work around it. It worked like a charm. Next question -- and perhaps I should just search the site for the answer? -- is how do I find frequencies to manually enter for my stations?

    Steve
     
  11. waeberd

    waeberd Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 16, 2004
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fribourg (CH)
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    You can set this somewhere in the windows explorer options (explorer window: "extras" / "folder options" disable the second upper checkbox - i have only a german windows, so i don't know the text in english, must be something like "hide extensions on known filetypes" or similar)

    Then you can rename also the extension of a file (with a warning because you're changing the filetype).

    If you're on cable, you have to get a list from the cable provider (check its web site....). For satellites I don't know, but you should find it somewhere on the web :eek:

    One thing that can save you some time:
    if you're entering the frequencies manually, double check that the name of the channel matches exactly the name that you can find in your tvguide.xml file (you can open this file in notepad...).

    This name is the key for Mediaportal to link the channel with the program information in the TV-Guide screen.

    Hope that helps!

    Daniel
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!