Analog tuning not working anymore after 1.0.1 upgrade/install

Discussion in '1.0.1 and SVN Builds' started by dhrto, April 16, 2009.

  1. dhrto

    dhrto Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 23, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    I have a dedicated TV-server setup with multiple client (Multi-Seat setup). This setup has been running 1.0.0 RC2 till 1.0.0. final without problems. When 1.0.0. was released, I started with a clean setup and this was working very well. When 1.0.1. was released I was eager to upgrade, because I read there were improvements for analog tuners.

    My dedicated TV-server runs XP SP3 with 3 XFX NVTV tuners installed (2 single tuner, 1 dual tuner). Tuning was fine with 1.0.0. After upgrade to 1.0.1 all the channels only give me white static. I tried clearing the channels and doing a full rescan, however the problem remains. During the rescan the same channels were found and reported 100% signal level and quality. When I scan through the logs, I can see that the tuners are able to lock onto the channels. I do not see errors about that. Recording a channel also gives static, so I think the problem is definately at the server-side. Playing old recordings from the 1.0.0. release works without problems.



    I've tried reverting back to 1.0.0, but unfortunately the issue does not go away. Tried uninstalling everything and cleaning up database and doing fresh install of 1.0.0, still the same.

    I'm afraid maybe the DirectX update that was required when installing 1.0.1 screwed things up. Unfortunately there's no way to uninstall DirectX. I do have a backup image from before the upgrade, if everything else fails, I might have to resort to that.

    ---
    TV-Server Version: 1.0.1
    MediaPortal Version: 1.0.1
    MediaPortal Skin: Blue3
    Windows Version: XP SP3
    CPU Type: Athlon64 X2 3800+
    HDD: WD RAPTOR 360ADFD
    Memory: 3 GB DDR400
    Motherboard: DFI LANParty UT nF4 Ultra-D
    Video Card: Nvidia GeForce 8800GT
    Video Card Driver: 181.22
    Sound Card: Creative Audigy
    Sound Card AC3: not used
    Sound Card Driver: 2.18.0010
    1. TV Card: XFX NVTV
    1. TV Card Type: analog hardware mpeg2 encoding
    1. TV Card Driver: 1.20.45
    2. TV Card: XFX NVTV
    2. TV Card Type: analog hardware mpeg2 encoding
    2. TV Card Driver: 1.20.45
    3. TV Card: XFX NVTV dual tuner
    3. TV Card Type: analog hardware mpeg2 encoding
    3. TV Card Driver: 1.20.45
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec: MPC (included in MP)
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: MPC (included in MP)
    h.264 Video Codec: ffdhow
    Satelite/CableTV Provider: Ziggo
    HTPC Case: Silverstone LC17B
    Cooling:
    Power Supply: Coolermaster RealPower 550 Watt
    Remote: Logitech UltraMediaX
    TV: LG5020
    TV - HTPC Connection: DVI>HMDI
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. dhrto

    dhrto Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 23, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Addition: TV channels do tune, the sound is coming through without problems, just the video part is grey. Radio also works.
     
  4. Dumbo

    Dumbo Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 1, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    The same problem

    I have the same problem there is sound but there is only a grey picture.

    I hope some body can help :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:
     

    Attached Files:

    • media portal.rar
      File size:
      30.6 KB
      Uploaded:
      April 16, 2009
      Views:
      109
    • tvserver.rar
      File size:
      30.6 KB
      Uploaded:
      April 16, 2009
      Views:
      119
  5. misterd
    • Premium Supporter

    misterd Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,597
    Likes Received:
    280
    Ratings:
    +298 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Please use the "MediaPortal Logs Collector" for collecting the logs and post the generated file. This way the analog configuration file is included, which is important for an error analysis.

    MisterD
     
  6. Dumbo

    Dumbo Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 1, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    The same problem

    Here are the logs. Sorry didn't now. I'm new at this.:oops::oops::oops::oops:
     
  7. misterd
    • Premium Supporter

    misterd Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,597
    Likes Received:
    280
    Ratings:
    +298 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    You should try to adjust the video quality settings of the analog card. I think that the Hue default value is a bit low.

    MisterD
     
  8. Dumbo

    Dumbo Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 1, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    change the setting

    Hello misterd

    I change the setting as you sade but there is no effect.
    I never change this setting before and in version 1.0 there was a picture
    Made new log's
     
  9. dhrto

    dhrto Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 23, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Where can I find the "MediaPortal Logs Collector". It is not installed with standalone TVserver?

    Changing the Hue level to somewhere in the middle (around 5000) also did nothing for me.
     
  10. dhrto

    dhrto Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 23, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    misterd: I manually zipped all the files in the "Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Team MediaPortal" directory, see included attachment. If you need anything else/more let me know.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. dhrto

    dhrto Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 23, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!