Analog tuning not working anymore after 1.0.1 upgrade/install | Page 2

Discussion in '1.0.1 and SVN Builds' started by dhrto, April 16, 2009.

  1. Dumbo

    Dumbo Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 1, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. misterd
    • Premium Supporter

    misterd Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,597
    Likes Received:
    280
    Ratings:
    +298 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    According to your configuration files the value hasn't changed. It seems that the bug of 1.0.1 with the analog config files has more side-effect than expected.

    MisterD
     
  4. dhrto

    dhrto Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 23, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    The mentioned fix doesn't work for me, still grey video while audio is nice and clean.
     
  5. Dumbo

    Dumbo Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 1, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
  6. dhrto

    dhrto Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 23, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Unfortunately adding the "new" TSreader.ax does nothing for me also. Still the same problem with grey screen with sound with analog TV.

    ---
    Edit
    ---

    Hmmm... I think I've found the culprit. It seems the default values in SetupTV > TV Servers > "hostname" > "tunercard" > tab VideoProcAmp for brightness, contrast, hue and saturation are not right. I manually changed them:

    - brightness to around 5000
    - contract to around 7500
    - hue to around 5000
    - saturation to around 7500

    Changing these settings finally gave me video instead of a grey screen. Above values resulted in an acceptable picture for me. Of course you could do some more finetuning to adjust the image to your liking.

    These settings are new in 1.0.1, as in 1.0.0 they were not there nor in the .xml config files for the analog tuners. I think this could be easily fixed for 1.0.2. by adjusting the default values for the NVTV tunercard in TV Server.
     
  7. misterd
    • Premium Supporter

    misterd Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,597
    Likes Received:
    280
    Ratings:
    +298 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    The default values are detected correctly. It is working for all other cards that I know. Probably just your card doesn't report back the correct values, so this is a driver issue. There is nothing we can do to fix that.

    MisterD
     
  8. Dumbo

    Dumbo Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 1, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    This is strangs after a reboot of the tv server pc the pictue is grey again.
     
  9. dhrto

    dhrto Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 23, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    misterd: Is there an option to have 1.0.1 behave as 1.0.0 in this aspect? Add a checkbox in configuration like "compatibility mode" so that 1.0.1 won't use/adjust the values like in 1.0.0.
     
  10. misterd
    • Premium Supporter

    misterd Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,597
    Likes Received:
    280
    Ratings:
    +298 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    There is no specific option in TvServer for that, as the card should return the correct values, if it supports this feature.

    I have an idea for a workaround, but I haven't checked it. You can modify the configuration file, which is in:
    XP: %APPDATA%\Team Mediaportal\MediaPortal TvServer\AnalogCard
    Vista: %PROGRAMDATA%\Team Mediaportal\MediaPortal\MediaPortal TvServer\AnalogCard
    Before you modify the file, you have to stop TvServer. In the configuration file for the card you will find this part:
    Code (Text):
    1. <videoProcAmp>
    2.     <videoQuality minValue="0" maxValue="10000" defaultValue="5000" delta="39" flags="2" value="5000">0</videoQuality>
    3.     <videoQuality minValue="0" maxValue="10000" defaultValue="5000" delta="78" flags="2" value="5000">1</videoQuality>
    4.     <videoQuality minValue="0" maxValue="10000" defaultValue="0" delta="39" flags="2" value="0">2</videoQuality>
    5.     <videoQuality minValue="0" maxValue="10000" defaultValue="5000" delta="78" flags="2" value="5000">3</videoQuality>
    6. </videoProcAmp>
    7.  
    This should be changed to:
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. <videoProcAmp/>
    3.  
    After this you can restart TvServer. TvServer should now think that the card doesn't support this feature and as long as graph building doesn't fail TvServer shouldn't try to detect this features again.

    MisterD
     
  11. Dumbo

    Dumbo Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 1, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    :D Looks like it works for me. When i changed the xml file i had to reboot before it work.:D
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!