Audio sync problems on LAV filters | Page 3

Discussion in '1.21 Pre Release' started by alexdepalma, December 28, 2018.

  1. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,226
    Likes Received:
    6,187
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,178 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Final bin with the option removed from code :)

    upload_2018-12-29_14-51-29.png


     

    Attached Files:

    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. alexdepalma
    • Premium Supporter

    alexdepalma MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 31, 2008
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    293
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +475 / 0
    Home Country:
    Spain Spain
    Show System Specs
    All good! perfect!
    my only suggestion will be change the frase from negative to positive. Like: Remember the setting for next playback... or
    Keep delay setting for further playback...
    Second minor suggestion, could be the GUI bar Window on the side instead of centered and smaller size. that will allow a better libsync on news (for instance) keeping the center of the image clean....

    Good job!
     
    Last edited: December 29, 2018
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,226
    Likes Received:
    6,187
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,178 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    The wording can be change :p
    About the GUI, I'm not an expert :( so can't change this.
     
  5. daWooky
    • Premium Supporter

    daWooky MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 3, 2012
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    393
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +920 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    nice additional enhancements(y)
    @alexdepalma about the bar position. that depends on the skin u use. so if you wanna change it u have to edit your skin common.osd.buttons.xml....(search for the two a/v delay entries)

    @Sebastiii btw. an additional "step" in the menu text for the subs would also be advisable
    pls_add_step.png
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
  6. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,226
    Likes Received:
    6,187
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,178 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Here we go: :)
     

    Attached Files:

    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
  7. daWooky
    • Premium Supporter

    daWooky MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 3, 2012
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    393
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +920 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    very nice and clear. should makes it definite easier to understand (y)(y)(y)
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  8. mrstef

    mrstef Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 15, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Hey Sebastiii, nice work! I have a feature suggestion related to this.

    My TV (and probably many others) introduces an image delay that is dependant on input frame rate. The delay introduced is always 7 frames, but since I use the Dynamic Refresh Rate to change frame rate, the audio delay needs to be set differently for different content. Example:

    TV (50Hz): 1/50 = 0.020s. 7 frames delay => 0.020 * 7 = 140ms
    Movies(24FPS): 1/24 = 0.042s. 7 frames delay => 0.042 * 7 = 292ms

    So would it be possible to add a column in the Dynamic Refresh Rate dialog for audio delay, so we can specify different audio delays for different framerates? :) I think that would mean less manual adjustment for everyone,...

    I actually did an implementation for this a few years back, dynamically adjusting the LAV audio filter delay based on FPS from Dynamic Refresh Rate, but I never got it to a state worth submitting,... :whistle:
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Great Idea! Great Idea! x 1
  9. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,513
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,374 / 21
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Interesting. How did you determine this?
     
  10. mrstef

    mrstef Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 15, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    I created a video based on pictures where each frame just showed the frame number on the screen. So frame 1 of the video showed "1" on the screen, frame 2 showed "2" etc. I then rendered the video with different frame rates, one for 24FPS, one for 50FPS etc. I took a laptop and connected the it to my TV via HDMI, and placed it just below the TV so I could see both screens.

    I made sure that the TV mirrored the screen of the laptop and then played back the different videos (making sure the refresh rate was set correctly) and captured a movie of both screen simultaneously using a high speed camera (filming at 240FPS). I could then analyze the resulting camera video and I could clearly see that no matter which refresh rate I chose, the TV always lagged 7 frames after the laptop screen (the frame number on the TV was always 7 steps behind the frame number on the laptop screen).

    This approach is based on the assumption that the laptop screen has no delays which might not be 100% correct, but it was the best idea I could come up with to do some kind of estimation/profiling of the TV input lag, and when using the values I got as audio delays, it gave me very good lip sync results.
     
  11. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,226
    Likes Received:
    6,187
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,178 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Hi :)
    Good idea but a pain to add lol, because we can have a different rate for ex from MP or madVR and the setting will not match and that would mean to get current refresh rate information and match against a value. Not sure if it's possible to make it works easily like I have less time these days but I will think on it but no promises :)
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!