BackupSettings for Tv Server and Media Portal | Page 27

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1 Plugins' started by huha, September 26, 2008.

  1. huha
    • Premium Supporter

    huha Extension Developer

    Joined:
    January 3, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Likes Received:
    550
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +622 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    VDR,
    in MP1.1 you need to open the old installer for the .mpi version. This is the MPInstaller.exe in the mediaPortal program directiory. But in the next version i will support the new MPEI2 installer, which will make this void.



    The bad news is that between 1.02 and 1.1 there was a major change in the code, so databases, many plugins and skins are not compatible and cannot be transferred.
    In order to avoid instabilities i am not restoring any old versions in general for database plugins and skins.
    You can try on your own risk to manually copy over the Moving Pictures database from your backupfolder\MP_USER\database\movingpictures.db3 to
    C:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\database (for windows 7) and try. Let me know if it works.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. chribe

    chribe Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 2, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
    RC2 and BackupSettings don't like each other

    Hi

    one quick question and an important info:

    first: :eek:
    RC2 and BackupSettings don't like each other. Hope you can find the cause in the logs. As there's an issue with onlinevideos too, i assume it's the same problem:

    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/...9-29-03-2010-a-57467/index140.html#post605428 there's also the link to my fresh posted logs!!!



    second: :confused:
    probably it's already mentioned somewhere in this long trade, but:
    can i import a backup of a machine into a total different, or do i get in trouble with the different pc name? i stay on the same platform (win 7 home premium 32bit), the only difference is ip and name.
    how does the remote client backup work? I got it to work some times and versions ago, but i don't understand it any more. do i need to share the remote clients program folder or even the whole harddisk? The manual is very short on this (page 22)

    thank you,

    chribe
     
  4. huha
    • Premium Supporter

    huha Extension Developer

    Joined:
    January 3, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Likes Received:
    550
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +622 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    chribe,
    thanks for posting, I will look at RC2 over the week end.

    The remote client backup is legacy and should not be used anymore. i am actually planing to remove it in one of the next versions if there are no user complaints. The better way is to install the BackupSettingsMP plugin on the client computer. Just use the installer on the client computer and it will find the right version. Then you can create your backup for the client independently and restore it from there.

    You can transfer the settings between different computers. I have done that before. You could run into issues if you have different Tv cards (tv card drivers) installed, but in the worst case you have to redo the channel scan, groups and recordings again. I had problems to change between XP and Vista, because some folder names did change (C:\ProgramData) but you are using the same system on both computers.

    The different ip should work out. You will get a warning, but just decline to exit. If this causes trouble you can manually edit the <your backupfolder>\TV_User\TVsettings.xml file and change the entry
    <server HostName="192.168.2.10" to your actual address or name.
     
  5. photopeter

    photopeter Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 14, 2008
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    27
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    AW: BackupSettings for Tv Server and Media Portal

    Hi.
    This Version of Backup Settings needs the "Workaround" from this thread to work with RC2.
    With the modified config files BS is working as expected with RC2.
     
  6. huha
    • Premium Supporter

    huha Extension Developer

    Joined:
    January 3, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Likes Received:
    550
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +622 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Version 1.0.6.0 released

    Version 1.0.6.0 released on 16.Apr.2010
    – supporting MP1.1RC2
    – supporting new MPEI2 installer
    – bug fixes on progress bar
    – supporting WebEPG Tvserver plugin
    – updated settings (checked with MP 1.1RC1)
    – added extra folder for export/import
    – changed skins and languages to "not overwrite" for MP_USER_FOLDER
    – bug fixes on restoring data for downgrading version
    – added all changes to media Portal plugin BackupSettingsMP

    Please check the upgrade tips at the first posting


    I am planning to stop the support of the mediapOrtal Client update in the media Portal Filter page if no one complains.
    please note that this part can now be done with the media Portal Client plugin which will be installed by the installer if no Tv server is on a computer.

    have fun, huha
     
    • Like Like x 3
  7. Jay_UK
    • Team MediaPortal

    Jay_UK Test Group

    Joined:
    October 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,781
    Likes Received:
    250
    Occupation:
    Enterprise Architect
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +271 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi there,

    Apologises if this has been asked before, but can this be used to migrate from mssql to mysql?

    Many thanks,

    J.
     
  8. huha
    • Premium Supporter

    huha Extension Developer

    Joined:
    January 3, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Likes Received:
    550
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +622 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    yes, as BackupSettings is doing a complete setting export into an ascii file it can be used to migrate.
    Export your settings, reinstall MP with mysql and import the data
     
  9. Terrabyte

    Terrabyte Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Does not work with RC4

    Hi there,

    i got RC4 and exported everything.
    This goes around for about 5 Minutes.

    Now i did a completely fresh Installation of MP RC4 and wanted to import the Backup.

    It was only a few seconds and the backup plugin was ready.

    But NITHING was importet, everything is now gone.

    Whats that???

    :mad:
     
  10. huha
    • Premium Supporter

    huha Extension Developer

    Joined:
    January 3, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Likes Received:
    550
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +622 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi Terabyte,
    please turn verbose debug on and send me the log file generated during the import.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Terrabyte

    Terrabyte Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    AW: Re: BackupSettings for Tv Server and Media Portal

    Ok i will do this the next days ok?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!