BD-rip, ISO = No subtitles? | Page 3

Discussion in 'Moving Pictures' started by jonaskp, September 13, 2009.

  1. Toga

    Toga Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 17, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    How Long ago did you rip these? Older Versions of AnyDVD HD couls not remove BD+ so the image still would have some protection on them.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. jonaskp

    jonaskp Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 23, 2006
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Not more than a couple of weeks for The Darkn Knight and Pirates I ripped yesterday. AnyDVD is fully updated.
     
  4. ixian
    • Premium Supporter

    ixian MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 14, 2007
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    56
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    If all else fails, remember that AnotherEac3to is really just a front end to the program that does the actual work - eac3to.exe, which is run from the command line. Try opening a command prompt, browsing to where eac3to.exe, and running it - type "eac3to.exe x:" where "x:" is the drive letter of your BD drive. See what comes back. If it can read it (it will spit back a list of what's on the disk if it can) then it's just the GUI acting up. If it can't then you have another problem, most likely AnyDVD not removing the copy protection. I know the Dark Knight can be done but sometimes you have to try it a couple times.

    There's another GUI for it - Downloads - hdbrstreamextractor - Project Hosting on Google Code - or you can Google "eac3to" and learn how to run it from the command line, which is how we all used to do it, you'd have to figure out the names of the tracks then write a little batch file, but it worked.
     
  5. Toga

    Toga Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 17, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Just had the Same error. the disk in question was a rip I had managed to rip only the movie.
    I wonder if altering the disk in any way causes issues for the ripping tools.
    Could you have had any option such as remove annoying trailers and adverts turned on when ripping the movies you are having trouble with?
     
  6. jonaskp

    jonaskp Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 23, 2006
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    I didn't have anything checked in ANyDVD except for "Enable Blu-ray support" (or something like that). Still got errors with ANotherEAC3to.

    So I tried the other GUI program "HD DVD Blu-ray stream Extractor" and so far it seems its working. Thanks for all the help so far Ixian.
     
  7. jonaskp

    jonaskp Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 23, 2006
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    "HD DVD Blu-ray Stream Extractor" lived up to its name and extracted the streams. Only problem is, when I open the streams in MKVMerge I can't see which streams are which. I can see the filename, so I know which is the AC3 audio and which is the TrueHD audio, but I can't see the difference if I have more than one AC3 audion. Maybe there is a solution to that. So far i have not had any discs where I needed more than one AC3 audio, so for now I can live with it.

    Right now MKVmerge is running at home and I am looking forward to seeing what it comes up with when I get off work later. Hopefully it is working.

    I found out that it was not EACto3 that was my problem with the discs that gave errors - I could run it from cmd.exe and get the list of contents. It was only after, when I clicked on Command Line or Run Batch, that the error was given. But I have no intention of using the Batch anyway, When I change from .iso to .mkv, I might as well cut out the audio languages that are not needed.
     
  8. risu
    • Premium Supporter

    risu MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 22, 2006
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    19
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    Also one option is to convert BD subs into 1080p SUB/IDX with BDSup2Sub and then save subs within BD's STREAM folder (you must name subtitle with same name as BD stream for MP to autoload them, for example 00000.idx & 00000.sub). That way you don't have to mux bd's into mkv and subs will work.
     
  9. ixian
    • Premium Supporter

    ixian MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 14, 2007
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    56
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    True, but if you're ripping the thing in the first place you're already muxing it, in which case why not just stick the subs in there too? It doesn't really add time to the muxing process and now you have everything you need in one file.
     
  10. jonaskp

    jonaskp Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 23, 2006
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    I agree with Ixian. I thought it would be a lot of trouble, but it really isn't. The whole process doesn't even take longer than when I just rip the Blu-rays.
    Secondly, I get the chance of stripping the disc of stuff I don't need. I just ripped and demuxed Quantum of Solace. The original disc is 48GB. I ripped the video, DTS HD-MA english audio, the DTS english audio and the danish subtitles. Final file: 25GB. That's almost half the size, and I still have all the quality on the stuff I want.
    If you are using this as a backup of the discs, then of course this might not be the best idea. But just for storing movies for easy acces via MediaPortal, this is great since it saves space without sacrificing (omg I can't spell today - is that even right?) quality.



    I have one question. When using HdBrStreamExtractor (instead of Another EAC, I still can't get that to work properly) I can select what format I want to output my audion in. The Lossless audio format I use FLAC. But with the DTS audio, I have the option to extract as either DTS (if it's a DTS audio track) or AC3. Which is better? And will MP have trouble with the first one?

    I am muxing a disc now, using DTS, so I'll guess I'll find out, but it would be nice with some expert advice.
     
  11. risu
    • Premium Supporter

    risu MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 22, 2006
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    19
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    I was previously muxing all my BD rips into MKV but I stopped as I had random failures. On some clips video got artifacts, lipsync trouble etc. Same stuff was experienced by other users on mkvtoolnix thread. I didn't feel it was really worth the hassle after all those unreliable results. That's the reason why now I rip my movies into BD movie only and just add one subfile into STREAM folder. And same time I still have original BD subs stored in the file (more colors and partial transparency). I'm hoping that MP will play subs just fine later on even without IDX/SUB subs (it's bound to happen someday), so I don't feel like going into MKV.

    But if MKV works for you, just go for it, it takes less space and you can use flac.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!