Blu-ray/HD DVD playback | Page 2

Discussion in 'Moving Pictures' started by Sutekh, February 24, 2009.

  1. armandp
    • Premium Supporter

    armandp Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 6, 2008
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    584
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Application Designer
    Location:
    Zoetermeer
    Ratings:
    +616 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    It's correct that you can't set the drive as an import path this is managed by the system (the import path is automatically added so you don't have to worry about that). Can you try to import it again in the configuration with DEBUG logging on and afterwards post your log file? Are you on XP or Vista btw?


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. marco_b

    marco_b Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 10, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    I'm on XP Home Sp3.

    Will try to test it again as you suggested and post the log afterwards.
     
  4. Sutekh

    Sutekh Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 16, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    I can echo marco_b's findings now. Within the config if I insert a Bluray or HD-DVD it will not attempt to import, however, the drive is accessed every few seconds. This stops as soon as I close the config.

    I tried disabling AnyDVD-HD 6.4.3.2 but that did not help. A regular DVD _did_ work, but was not automatically imported because the disc label was meaningless - expected behaviour. Once I manually assigned it, it played fine from MP.

    Bluray and HD-DVD (Casino Royale and Doom, respectively) would not import.

    I am on XP Pro SP3 with an LG Bluray/HD-DVD combo drive.
     
  5. armandp
    • Premium Supporter

    armandp Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 6, 2008
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    584
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Application Designer
    Location:
    Zoetermeer
    Ratings:
    +616 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs

    Couple of questions (again):

    1) Can you post the debug log of the Bluray import attempt?
    2) When you have inserted the Bluray disc is it possible for you to explore it with windows explorer?
     
  6. marco_b

    marco_b Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 10, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
  7. armandp
    • Premium Supporter

    armandp Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 6, 2008
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    584
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Application Designer
    Location:
    Zoetermeer
    Ratings:
    +616 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Possible solution

    For those of you who are on XP only, check if you can explorer the disc in windows explorer - if not try to install this driver:

    Download this driver (Toshiba UDF2.5 Reader File System Driver for Windows XP) and follow these installation instructions:

    Afterwards check if you can:

    a) Browse the disc using windows explorer
    b) Moving Pictures does the import now

    Vista users don't have this problem because vista natively supports UDF 2.5/2.6
    I hope this will solve the issue, please confirm :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Sutekh

    Sutekh Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 16, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    I will get a log for you in the next day, and I can't say whether I could browse the disc in windows explorer, but AnyDVD-HD picked it up and PowerDVD could play it. I will confirm this for you when I get the log.
     
  9. armandp
    • Premium Supporter

    armandp Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 6, 2008
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    584
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Application Designer
    Location:
    Zoetermeer
    Ratings:
    +616 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Can you please set the mediaportal portal logging to "DEBUG" and try again? ;)
     
  10. armandp
    • Premium Supporter

    armandp Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 6, 2008
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    584
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Application Designer
    Location:
    Zoetermeer
    Ratings:
    +616 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Both of these programs have a built-in logic that can read the discs. Moving Pictures relies more on the OS.
    I recommend to try out the driver i posted and see if this works for you.
     
  11. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    Both AnyDVD and PowerDVD have internal "driver" for the blu-ray format. XP itself doesn't have.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!