Connecting HTPC with AV-reciever | Page 3

Discussion in 'General' started by aspik, April 4, 2015.

  1. Kotik
    • Premium Supporter

    Kotik MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 19, 2009
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    337
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    Ratings:
    +555 / 2
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    Hehehe i am pretty sure they are aware of the fact that there are no other solutions out there so they decide that 300 dollars is a fair price for an equipment that copies the EDID of ur AVR/TV and injects it back to ur HTPC.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,746
    Likes Received:
    1,420
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,849 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
  4. aspik
    • Team MediaPortal

    aspik Development Group

    Joined:
    April 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    364
    Ratings:
    +593 / 1
    @Kotik
    Thank you for the guide, will test when I have few min spare time. Still don't really understand the difference between my current connection and bitstream... I thought that currently the sound is decoded by the AVR..?

    @kiwijunglist
    Wow, this is a unit! Compared to you, mine looks really like a toy:D 9 channels each 220W + 2 Subwoofers, respect! Don't mind, if I ask you for what do you need such a monster ? It's because of the sound quality, or do you actually need 9 channels?

    What I'm also not understand is, why you both have problems with the HDMI connection and I can use pass-through without big troubles (besides the turn on order, which is not really a issue for me)? @kiwijunglist unit is state of the art, where mine is basic/budged and you have to use HDMI detective to solve it. Is doing yamaha something different, or is it just lucky me?
     
  5. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,746
    Likes Received:
    1,420
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,849 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    @aspik - I didn't need it, it was on special so I thought I'd spend a bit extra. I only use 5.1 channels. I think you are better of spending most of your money on speakers however, as that's what makes the most difference. Most brands of avr have issues with htpcs, and usually it's related to the htpc more than the avr.
     
  6. aspik
    • Team MediaPortal

    aspik Development Group

    Joined:
    April 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    364
    Ratings:
    +593 / 1
    Completely agree with you, that's why I bought for start only a pair of NS-333. I prefer bookshelf/standalone speakers over the little 5.1 sets. I'm currently have only this two speakers connected to the AVR. In future I plan to add NS-555 and NS-C444.

    So, in my case it could be that the NUC itself is doing a good job or the fact that it runs 24/7 and there are no wake up issues :)
     
  7. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,746
    Likes Received:
    1,420
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,849 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Edited. It seems you have some issues regarding the order of turning things in and off. I had an Intel nuc newest version for a while and i didn't have any issues with it and my avr.

    If those issues bother you a lot then adding a gefen would solve any issues related to the htpc having edid handshaking problems with the avr.
     
    Last edited: April 14, 2015
  8. Kotik
    • Premium Supporter

    Kotik MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 19, 2009
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    337
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    Ratings:
    +555 / 2
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    Aspik try to turn off your AVR while your HTPC is on, wait couple of seconds and turn it on again. Do that like 5 times in a row and report here your findings.
     
  9. aspik
    • Team MediaPortal

    aspik Development Group

    Joined:
    April 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    364
    Ratings:
    +593 / 1
    should I leave the tv turned on or should I turn it off?
     
  10. Kotik
    • Premium Supporter

    Kotik MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 19, 2009
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    337
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    Ratings:
    +555 / 2
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    Leave the TV on.
     
  11. aspik
    • Team MediaPortal

    aspik Development Group

    Joined:
    April 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    364
    Ratings:
    +593 / 1
    Hi Kotik,

    works fine here. After every turn on the AVR, MP is working good :) Have you something particular in mind with the test?
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!