Corrupted Channel names for DVB-T2 channels

Discussion in 'General Support' started by Jolltax, September 10, 2017.

  1. Jolltax
    • Premium Supporter

    Jolltax MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 7, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Bouvet Island Bouvet Island
    Hi guys,

    Been having a bit of trouble recently with the MediaPortal server we run at home and would appreciate some advice. The problem is corrupted channel names, which even when corrected will re-corrupt themselves again, here is an example image from the server configuration screen :

    [​IMG]

    As you can see above, some but not all of the channels have odd-looking names, or you can see a full screenshot with a bit more detail here.

    The server has been running MediaPortal 1 for a few years without any major issues, I did briefly upgrade to MP2 and then downgrade again to 1.17 a couple of weeks ago but it exhibited this behaviour for a couple of months before and after the upgrade, otherwise it seems to work fine and the problem doesn't seem to prevent the usual functions i.e. watching recording, streaming etc

    Some more details of the server :



    Windows 10
    i5-2500 with 8Gb RAM
    TBS6205 quad tuner DVB-T2
    DVB EPG

    Server records and streams DVB-T2 TV (only) to a variety of devices, all of which are running Kodi, only 2 plugins are enabled - Comskip and the Kodi plugin.

    I notice the channel folders names have also been changed, I am not sure if this is expected behaviour. We have renamed the channels in the Channel section of the TV server configuration on a few occasions but they became re-corrupted. It seems to only effect HD channels, not sure why.

    [​IMG]


    I have put some logs in this folder, in case anyone has any time to look at them.

    Very much appreciate any help or advice.

    Thanks

    Jolltax
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello

    In what circumstances?
    TV Server doesn't update channel names once they've been created.

    Are you sure you're not using DJBlu's customised version of TV Server?

    mm
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Jolltax
    • Premium Supporter

    Jolltax MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 7, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Bouvet Island Bouvet Island
    Thanks for your reply!

    About two weeks ago I did a reinstall using the 1.17 installer from the website, I don't ever remember installing a custom version - if I ever have it was a long time ago.

    Not sure when the corruption occurs, typically we will rename the channels and overnight they will get corrupted again. It's strange, i wonder whether its related to the channels we watch (we mostly watch the HD channels)

    Today I will rename them again and then see if Windows records the time the folder name changes - this might help me relate it to another interaction

    J
     
  5. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    550
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +975 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    It is a strange pattern of channel-name corruption. I notice that 101, 102, and 105 have corrupted names, but 103 and 104 do not. And yet those five channels are all in the same DVB-T2 MUX. Weird!

    I have edited quite a few of my channel names (e.g. "BBC ONE HD" to "BBC1 HD"), and can confirm that I am not experiencing any problem with channel names (MP 1.12 on Windows Vista), so this is not a general problem for UK users.

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Okay, here's a question.

    Open TV Server Configuration.
    Navigate to the "general" section.
    Go to the "scan" tab within that section.
    Tell us: do you have the "linkage scanner" setting enabled?

    If yes, try unticking that setting.
    Otherwise, please provide full TV Server log files. I don't have any other ideas.
     
  7. Jolltax
    • Premium Supporter

    Jolltax MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 7, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Bouvet Island Bouvet Island
    I found that in a previous forum posting and already made sure it is unchecked. thank you for looking into this. Overnight one channel was re-corrupted after I reset it yesterday.

    No worries, I am away on business for 3 weeks so I'll have a think about it some more and maybe do another full re-install when I get back. I'll post back if I resolve the issue. Log files linked in OP

    Jolltax
     
  8. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hmmm, I'd really like to know what's going on, but if you do this, we may never find out. Therefore I'd prefer to try and work through it.

    Those log files are of no use because the two TV service log files only cover approximately half an hour each and neither of those half hour periods are overnight. That's why I asked for a new and full set (please include all TV service log files).
     
  9. Jolltax
    • Premium Supporter

    Jolltax MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 7, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Bouvet Island Bouvet Island
    OK cool, unfortunately I am away on business for 3 weeks and don't have access to the server but on my return I will provide logs etc

    J
     
  10. Jolltax
    • Premium Supporter

    Jolltax MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 7, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Bouvet Island Bouvet Island
    HI guys, I am back from my trip and here is a link to the logs from our server (I zipped them up, I hope thats OK). I would very grateful if one of you smart guys could advise me on what I need to do to get rid of this odd behaviour i.e. changing the channel names to weird stuff

    The server has functioned well over the last 3 weeks even though the channel names are corrupted, most odd
     
  11. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Welcome back! :)
    There's a lot of content in those log files.
    Are you certain that names were changed overnight between 6 and 7 October?
    Don't want to go looking through a haystack if there's no needle in it! ;)
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!