Default refresh rate not applied when switching directly to different media? | Page 8

Discussion in '1.3.x' started by TheBatfink, March 17, 2013.

  1. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    According to the code, that indeed seems to be the intended way :) but somehow it isn't working (yet/anymore)


     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. TheBatfink
    • Premium Supporter

    TheBatfink MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,285
    Likes Received:
    164
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Business System Analyst
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +221 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I thought it was just applying the default rate on specific triggers, i.e media stop. The last I noticed, MePo startup wasn't a trigger so if you went directly to TV after starting up, the default rate was whatever your desktop was before mepo started up. Maybe it has evolved since then to just apply to TV Playback start?

    I would make more sense to have it as a fallback only when DRR fails to grab a framerate though, because the downside to applying it everywhere is like in the CD1 - CD2 case, the pause between the first file ending the second starting is now increased due to the refresh rate dropping to default and then being negotiated again by DRR (but at least DRR kicks in on subsequent playlist files now).

    But hopefully the way of determining the streams framerate as owlsroost suggested will eventually make its way in for RTSP :)
     
    Last edited: April 9, 2013
  4. doskabouter
    • Premium Supporter

    doskabouter Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    September 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,799
    Likes Received:
    753
    Location:
    Nuenen
    Ratings:
    +1,117 / 1
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Found the solution: add
    Code (Text):
    1.  || Util.Utils.IsRTSP(strFile)
    at g_player.cs at line 1288
    so it looks like
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2.         if ((!playingRemoteUrl && Util.Utils.IsVideo(strFile)) || Util.Utils.IsLiveTv(strFile) || Util.Utils.IsRTSP(strFile)) //local video, tv, rtsp
    3.  
    Don't know if this needs a mantis of it's own, or if you can merge it with yours
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,257
    Likes Received:
    6,211
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,214 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    I will add it to the branch :)
    Thanks :)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,257
    Likes Received:
    6,211
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,214 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    • Like Like x 1
  7. TheBatfink
    • Premium Supporter

    TheBatfink MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,285
    Likes Received:
    164
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Business System Analyst
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +221 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi, going to try out the 1.4.0 today.. do you feel this is now completely fixed for all usage cases (TV, playlists, etc etc)? :)
     
  8. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,257
    Likes Received:
    6,211
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,214 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Better to try and confirm :)
    Thanks :)
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!