Direct3D could not be created after resume

Discussion in '1.4.x' started by The_Stig, June 23, 2013.

  1. The_Stig
    • Premium Supporter

    The_Stig Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,176
    Likes Received:
    288
    Ratings:
    +426 / 5
    MediaPortal Version: 1.4.0

    Description
    I get this Direct3D error after resume quite often lately (hangs on "Initializing DirectX" and after around 2 Minutes it closes MP with the Direct3D error).
    Debug-log attached. Since its not happening all the time I could only export present logs.
    I already tried to increase the time when MP starts to 5 seconds, but this doesnt help at all. First time if have seen this behaviour was with 1.4 pre-release.
    What I think is a bit weird is that MP is starting up fully. Shouldnt it only re-initialize itself? At least that is what I am seeing most of the time after a resume.
    Anyone with an idea?

    Steps to Reproduce:
    1. Resume MP from standy


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Froderikus

    Froderikus Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Hello,

    I also have this problem after reboot. Does not help to set the internal "Delay Startup" function.
    I use a third party software called "StartupDelayer" to set a startup delay of 5 sec.
    This does the job.

    Frank
     
    Last edited: June 23, 2013
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. BlueMax1916
    • Super User

    BlueMax1916 Super User

    Joined:
    January 29, 2007
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    61
    Ratings:
    +123 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I have the same problem after a fresh restart. MePo 1.4.0 hangs at 'Initializing DirectX'. When a fire up the task manager I see that FullScreenSplashScreen.exe hangs. After killing it and another start it loads. I have set MePo to autostart via autostart folder. This problem began after updating to 1.4.0 from 1.3.0 yesterday.

    I have reinstalled latest DirectX9 already but to no avail.
     
    Last edited: June 23, 2013
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. The_Stig
    • Premium Supporter

    The_Stig Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,176
    Likes Received:
    288
    Ratings:
    +426 / 5
    Thanks for your answers. I'd like to get this fixed and not just workaround with other tools. So may I ask if you attach logs when happening? Best run MP debug mode and click on "Export all current avalílable logs". So I hope to find a dev when other have this problem too. Thanks!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    @Scythe42 (seem to be tagging you quite a lot recently - sorry :))
    I guess the error message is due to _renderTarget having been disposed, but my question would be why/how the application is disposed. Unhandled exception in the standby process (total guess :)) ???

    @The_Stig
    Seems like your logs are not debug-level. Could you please change to debug-level in MP configuration so we can have full details for when this problem occurs next time.
     
  7. The_Stig
    • Premium Supporter

    The_Stig Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,176
    Likes Received:
    288
    Ratings:
    +426 / 5
    Will do. Thanks for looking into this issue.
     
  8. BlueMax1916
    • Super User

    BlueMax1916 Super User

    Joined:
    January 29, 2007
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    61
    Ratings:
    +123 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Here is my log. I have to kill MePo during DirectX Initialisation because it hangs. When the trouble starts I hear a Windows error sound in the background.

    Cheers
     
    Last edited: June 23, 2013
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Scythe42
    • Premium Supporter

    Scythe42 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,065
    Likes Received:
    2,632
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Professional Hacker
    Location:
    Berlin
    Ratings:
    +2,724 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    MP comes up too early and lands in an "environment" before D3D is fully ready. Delaying startup inside MP has no effect here naturally, as the executable is already loaded.

    This does down to an issue with Manged DirectX that loads some resources that cannot be re-initialized in .NET as soon as the executable loads you are stuck in a given environment.

    Please give it a try starting MP with the Task Scheduler if the problem still persists. Changing from the legacy Run Key to the Task Scheduler is simple.

    Or use an other tool for a more controlled Auto Start of applications.

    Also there is a proper Error Message Box, but it is overlayed by the damn splash screen that is on top of it. A simple OK would work here, but you cannot click on it. Always on Top is evil...
     
    Last edited: June 23, 2013
    • Like Like x 1
  10. The_Stig
    • Premium Supporter

    The_Stig Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,176
    Likes Received:
    288
    Ratings:
    +426 / 5
    Erm...could you explain a bit more for a dummy?
     
  11. Scythe42
    • Premium Supporter

    Scythe42 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,065
    Likes Received:
    2,632
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Professional Hacker
    Location:
    Berlin
    Ratings:
    +2,724 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Windows has its own Task Scheduler since for ever. I think since the Win95 Plus Pack.

    Here is a video introduction:



    Just autostart MP with a trigger executed upon booting Windows. In fact this is the way autostart should be handled since Windows 7 according to MS guidelines. Was overhauled with Vista a lot with additional feature like executing stuff based on entries in the event log...

    And changing code to create an entry here instead of the run key is very very simple. Have a branch laying around since ages for MP that uses the task management library.

    Edit:
    Interesting question now is: will this solve the issue for you or does it in the end come down to an issue with Managed DirectX, meaning MP needs an autostart wrapper that actually does the delay before starting the MediaPortal.exe.

    As said code wise nothing can be done, because I tracked the issue down to Managed Direct X, that cannot re-init some stuff once the runtime is loaded.

    I consider this a defect in MP, but nothing that can be solved easily without some major changes. In the end the deprecated Managed DirectX has to anyway and such problems go away with it.
     
    Last edited: June 23, 2013
    • Like Like x 2
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!