EPG-Buddy a new EPG Tool with easy usage. | Page 17

Discussion in 'Tools and other software' started by Lehmden, November 26, 2016.

  1. breese
    • Team MediaPortal

    breese Test Group

    Joined:
    July 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,903
    Likes Received:
    325
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Sr. Systems Engineer
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, Illinois
    Ratings:
    +768 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    I spent time on @twinlove69 machine and did manage to get it setup and working with TV Guide.
    So far all is working as expected.....


     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. breese
    • Team MediaPortal

    breese Test Group

    Joined:
    July 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,903
    Likes Received:
    325
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Sr. Systems Engineer
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, Illinois
    Ratings:
    +768 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    @Lehmden
    What is the search / compare / matching that EPG-Buddy uses?
    With all the installs, updates, trials I have done, I have yet to get the NTSC OTA channels to auto map with the channels in TV Setup.
    While helping twinlove69 it became apparent that the software is having issues when trying to match TV Guide info with TV Setup channels.

    As you know, I would be willing to try just about anything to help resolve this...
    thanks
     
  4. Lehmden
    • Team MediaPortal

    Lehmden Test Group

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,241
    Likes Received:
    2,087
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,454 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi.
    There is absolutely no search / compare / matching of channels in EPG-Buddy at all. Nothing, nada, niente, zero.
    The channel matching solely is done inside the xmltv plugin. The only thing EPG-Buddy does is to modify the channel names in the data, TVGuide.com (or any other data source) delivers so it is as close as possible to the names stored in the TV engine database (where the channel names are stored exactly as broadcast by your TV provider).

    This can be done by selecting a channel name as read from TV engine database (database mode) or do it manual by typing the channel name into the input field (manual mode). That's all that can be done outside the xmltv plugin. The rest only is a thing of the xmltv plugin from TV engine... If something is not as it should this is a bug in the xmltv plugin or (more common) a user mistake while configuring the xmltv plugin...

    The only matching EPG-Buddy does is to match the program data with TVDB to get season and episodes numbers.

    You don't need to tell EPG-Buddy to modify the names at all (simply don't configure the channels in data tab at all) then the EPG data will be send to the xmltv plugin exactly as delivered by TVGuide.com. Everything you do inside EPG-Buddy's main GUI only is for easier match in xmltv plugin and for better EPG data by adding series information from TVDB...

    I know in the US channel names are weird and often have nothing to do with the aired program at all. But as told many, many times already, xmltv plugin can not use channel numbers. In most parts of the world, channel names are used to identify a channel and for this in many countries no channel numbers are aired at all... Here in Germany all channels, really all channels have channel number 10.000... Not very useful to identify a channel, imho.
     
  5. Lehmden
    • Team MediaPortal

    Lehmden Test Group

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,241
    Likes Received:
    2,087
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,454 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi.
    A new Version V 0.4.2.7 can be found in our Repo. It's a bugfix release that now capture and log "403" errors during EPG grabbing.
     
  6. breese
    • Team MediaPortal

    breese Test Group

    Joined:
    July 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,903
    Likes Received:
    325
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Sr. Systems Engineer
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, Illinois
    Ratings:
    +768 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Thanks for the updated version.
    Is there a cleanup for cache directories?
    C:\Program Files (x86)\EPG-Buddy\EPG-Grabber.Cache is over 100M, over 1000 files, and they date back to 12/18/2017

    upload_2018-1-26_8-9-57.png
     
  7. Lehmden
    • Team MediaPortal

    Lehmden Test Group

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,241
    Likes Received:
    2,087
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,454 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi.
    The files in the cache are downloaded metadata from TVDB. As long as nothing is changed on TVDB those files stay untouched. The oldest files I have in cache are from 2016... So the file date is not the same as download date, it's the date when the content last time changed on TVDB. As you never know when the next airing of a series occurs you better leave them as they are.

    There is no harm in removing them excerpt for slowing down the EPG grabbing (a lot, depends oh how much you've cleaned up). EPG-Buddy downloads them again, if they are missing and next time needed. If you need to remove them, feel free to do so. As this only is a "very short time" solution I can not recommend to do it... There won't be an "official" option to clean up the cache as in General it would be pretty useless.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  8. bolagnaise

    bolagnaise New Member

    Joined:
    April 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    how would i go about merging 2 xmls guides into 1 for use in plex live tv using EPG buddy?
     
  9. Lehmden
    • Team MediaPortal

    Lehmden Test Group

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,241
    Likes Received:
    2,087
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,454 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi.
    This is currently not supported in EPG-Buddy. It is much more complicated than it may look like and we are short on dev power and time. AFAIK every TV solution that fully supports XMLTV also supports the usage of multiple xml files. So there is no real need to spend the time adding this up to now. This feature may be added in future, depending on the time we find for working on EPG-Buddy.

    Right now Plex don't support XMLTV for their own DVR Solution. They even don't support any type of EPG at all for it. You only can see current and next program. If you want a full blown EPG you need to use a 3rd party TV solution. And then you need to follow the guide for the solution you choose.
     
  10. bolagnaise

    bolagnaise New Member

    Joined:
    April 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    I used XMLTVGUI, it supports XML merging and was able to do it.
     
  11. mikhoul

    mikhoul New Member

    Joined:
    February 1, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Hi,

    I'm new and I tried the latest 0.4.2.7 version and tried to generate the WebGrab++.config.xml and the config file is generated when I click on the START button.

    But No channel are added inside the file, when I "tick" the grab option like here:
    [​IMG]

    As soon I move to another channel and come back the channel is not ticked.

    Even if I stay on the page with the channel "ticked" and click on START to generate a WebGrab++.config.xml with the channel inside it generate the
    config file but without the channel.


    Could you tell me if I do something wrong ?

    Let me know if you need more information.

    Regards
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!