[EPG] - EPG not displaying

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1.1.0 BETA 1' started by jonesdb, September 7, 2009.

  1. jonesdb

    jonesdb Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 11, 2008
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Analog/RF IC Design
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    I recently installed 1.1Beta and have been having a problem displaying the EPG ever since. I'm using xmltv with mc2xml.exe. the tvguide.xml is located in C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal TV Server\xmltv The data has been loaded in the the database under program.
    When I open the TV Guide in MP I get a blank window. (see attached image) Logs are attached. This was a complete clean install. Any ideas?


     

    Attached Files:

    • EPG screen.JPG
      EPG screen.JPG
      File size:
      31.7 KB
      Uploaded:
      September 7, 2009
      Views:
      201
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. bakerpr

    bakerpr Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 21, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    I have had the same issue a couple of times with this new beta. Have you used the import function rather than doing a new scan of channels.
    When I rescaned channels the tvguide magically appeared.

    However using the latest builds with windows 7 I can not get my cards to scan correctly nor HD to work consistantly, so I have given up until full support is provided for W7.
     
  4. jonesdb

    jonesdb Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 11, 2008
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Analog/RF IC Design
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    You are correct. I had done an export previously and then have done imports since then. 1.1Beta was actually working fine for several days (that was when I did the export) and then suddenly I wasn't able to see the guide any more. After chasing that problem for awhile, I decided to do a complete uninstall and start fresh with the exception of an import. Everything else seems to work fine with the exception of the EPG. Guess my next move is to start fresh with a complete new scan unless someone has other ideas. From my inexperienced eye it looks like a problem with an .xml sheet, but not knowing how that is all handled I could be way off base. I do know that the programs are being imported into the database from the TVGuide.xml file, so it seems to be just in the display of the data.
     
  5. jonesdb

    jonesdb Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 11, 2008
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    3
    Occupation:
    Analog/RF IC Design
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    OK. A quick update for anyone with this problem. I have done a complete uninstall of both TVServer, MP and delete of the database. Then a new install of 1.1 Beta 1, a complete re-scan and I'm back to showing an EPG again.....soooo issue solved, but not understood. The only difference from what I had done before was that I didn't import anything from the previous export which had been exported from the original install of 1.1 Beta 1
     
  6. robomonkey

    robomonkey Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 4, 2005
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Hey All

    I also had this problem, it is related to importing the TV data.

    I solved it by rescanning and this fixed the issue.
     
  7. kkendall

    kkendall Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 24, 2007
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Senior Marketing & Communication
    Location:
    Gouda
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Great! I'll try it out, I have this problem too.
    In the newspost on the frontpage it says you can import the tvdata, so I did.
    When rescanning, I don't have to throw away everything like my channels, channelgroups, etc? Just scanning the DVB frequencies again will do?

    EDIT:
    Just rescanning didn't work. I reinstalled MP again, imported the whole thing again...but with the same 'Label Missing' result.
    Installed MP again, this time without importing the tv part again. I did a whole new scan for channels, planned some shows, etc. and this time no problems with missing labels at all! :D

    The new import function seems to be the problem indeed.
     
  8. cybermortel

    cybermortel Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Same thing without XMLTV

    Hi,

    I have the same problem with 1.1 Beta.

    Everything is fine with channels and EPG but after a couple of days + reboot of the computer, no more EPG or channels in the list.

    I use SchedulesDirect plugin.
    TV Server Database is fine since when I access the TV Server with MPTVClient, all channels + EPG are ok !!!

    I'm getting tired of deinstalling/reinstalling, I had to do so at least 4 times since I installed beta, I'm thinking of getting back to Alpha version until a more stable version of beta is out.

    Anybody succeeded to fix this issue ?
     
  9. kkendall

    kkendall Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 24, 2007
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Senior Marketing & Communication
    Location:
    Gouda
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    THis seems to happen when I don't have the tv service running or is not in time with starting up before showing the epg.
    I say this because after a restart and starting MP again, the EPG is gone when that's the startup screen so to say. When it start up on a other screen, say home, and then going to epg, all is ok.
    So, when starting up on the EPG the first time after a restart, the EPG is gone. Closing MP and starting it right up again, still on the EPG, and everything is ok!
    Also, when my tv service is down, for whatever reason (in my case when 'epg grabbing when idle' is on ,MP hangs), the EPG gives me the missing label message.
     
  10. cybermortel

    cybermortel Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Hum, good observation. On my side, the "Missing Label" epg always appeared after a PC reboot as you say. Although, I am pretty shure that when I exit / restart mediaportal, the epg is still missing.

    I will try reboot the PC without starting automatically mediaportal tonight. I'll post the results.
     
  11. cybermortel

    cybermortel Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Update,

    Rebooted the PC without mediaportal autostart. Waited for the TVServer service to be started and fired Mediaportal.
    No luck... same /$%/% "Label Missing" EPG and no channels available. In fact the only channel that I am able to view is the last one that I watched before EPG crashed.

    It's very frustrating (and time consuming) and I am very close to come back to the alpha version.

    I cannot find a way to get the EPG back.:mad:
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!