How can I rename Seasons? | Page 2

Discussion in 'My TVSeries' started by andimoor, February 17, 2015.

  1. barneh
    • Premium Supporter

    barneh MP Donator

    Joined:
    February 4, 2010
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Malmö
    Ratings:
    +53 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    1. Rename
    What I mean is that you make the changes yourself and commit a patch.

    3.theTVDB
    Have you asked? If so do you have the url? (interesting to see reason/ comment about it!) Both for naming the season and this Chris Ryan...


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. andimoor

    andimoor Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 7, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    1. Rename
    Ok, you mean: I should do the changes by myself manually and the I should write here what I do (sorry, my English is not so good, that I understand everything perfect)
    The thing, that I don't understand is: Why can I edit Series names and Episode names, but not the Season names

    1. + 2.
    Ok, I will try it

    3.
    Yes, I requested it in the forum. I explain it, send the Screenshots.

    https://forums.thetvdb.com/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=18796&p=67772&hilit=strike back#p67772

    I think I understand it correct ...
     
  4. barneh
    • Premium Supporter

    barneh MP Donator

    Joined:
    February 4, 2010
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Malmö
    Ratings:
    +53 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    1. Rename
    What I mean is that you do the changes in you're skin (make it work, as you what), then send it/ post it in the skin forum.
    Because if it get committed, every update don't break you're changes :)

    3. TheTVDB
    Okay I see... as I understand when Sky Network send the series. It had one order.
    Then when it came on DVD or was shown in Germany the order of the episodes was different from the original order by Sky Network.
    Have I understand the problem?
     
  5. andimoor

    andimoor Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 7, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    1.
    It is too difficult for me, to change anything. I don't understand the Source-Code enough.
    I hope the Programmer(s) of TV-Series and/or the Skin (StreamedMP in my case) implement the Rename- and Sort-Feature some day.

    3.
    The order is the same, but in Germany is "Chris Ryan's Strike Back" a Serie with one Season. And "Strike Back" is an extra Serie (Sequel) with three or four Seasons - Chris Ryan dies in "Chris Ryan's Strike Back".
     
    Last edited: February 19, 2015
  6. tony72
    • Premium Supporter

    tony72 MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 15, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    All seems like a lot of work. Couldn't you use My Films instead, and treat each season as a box set? I know that will take you out of the tv series context, but at least you can name the box set how you like without having to hack a skin. Just a thought anyway.
     
  7. andimoor

    andimoor Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 7, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Thanks to all, but I hope my TVSeries will implement the features. I think, I'm not the only user, who find it good.
     
  8. Edalex
    • Premium Supporter

    Edalex Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    January 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,898
    Likes Received:
    709
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Saratov
    Ratings:
    +1,223 / 9
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    Show System Specs
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. barneh
    • Premium Supporter

    barneh MP Donator

    Joined:
    February 4, 2010
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Malmö
    Ratings:
    +53 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    Show System Specs
    This thread started with renaming the Seasons. That could be one thing that's okay to implement.
    But then you have to add the season name you're self in the DB. Since the TVDB don't have that today (don't forget to change in the Layout view in TV-Series Configuration to).

    The next problem with the Chris Ryan thing - I think is a very specific change request, where is need to implement for just this series, not every series in the world. And I don't think that is the way to go for TV-Series, sorry :unsure:
     
  10. ltfearme
    • Premium Supporter

    ltfearme Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    June 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6,455
    Likes Received:
    4,239
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Test Engineer
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +5,379 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    In the next version there will be support for custom season names in the GUI. You can edit the title of each season from the configuration. Similarly you will also be able to set a custom season summary.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!