[solved] - Initital testing with second client - cannot play recorded TV

Discussion in 'General' started by Digsy, September 28, 2018.

  1. Digsy

    Digsy Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 29, 2018
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Show System Specs
    While I await some replacement RAM for NUC-based MP client, I have been doing some initial testing with my Windows 8.1 tablet. Its far from ideal, but usable with a keyboard attached.

    Everything works apart from playing recorded TV. Live TV is pixellated and choppy, but I am putting that down to my WiFi connection. Images, audio and ripped DVDs play 100% fine. But when I try to play recorded TV from my server, it either does not play at all, or plays for a few seconds and then stops.

    Log files attached.


     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: October 7, 2018
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Digsy

    Digsy Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 29, 2018
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Show System Specs
    I have raised a bug report on this in the proper section as I can now reproduce it on a "proper" 2nd client with a wired ethernet connection.
     
    Last edited: October 7, 2018
  4. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,788
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,410 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Well, this is most likely not a “bug” because in that case it wouldn’t work for anybody. ;) Would be better to keep the discussion here until a bug status is confirmed.

    I’ll look at your logs.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  5. BlueMax1916
    • Super User

    BlueMax1916 Super User

    Joined:
    January 29, 2007
    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    61
    Ratings:
    +123 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi,

    did you put in the network credentials in your tablet's MP2 client settings? Settings -> Media Sources -> Network Credentials (may not be accurate as my MP2 GUI is in German language).

    Cheers

    Blue Max
     
  6. Digsy

    Digsy Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 29, 2018
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Show System Specs
    Point taken :) I should probably also point out that when I was testing using my table I was using 2.1.3. Today's test with the "bedroom" client was using 2.2
     
  7. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,788
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,410 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    The team is on 2.2 and this basic functionality is working ok for us.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  8. Digsy

    Digsy Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 29, 2018
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Show System Specs
    Hi,

    No I haven't but you shouldn't need a username and password to access my network. All my media apart from recorded TV is stored on a NAS, and both clients can access that without problems. Recorded TV is stored on a dedicated 1TB drive on my server machine.

    Does the folder I am using to store recorded TV on my server machine need setting up as a share manually? I had assumed that MP would take care of this.
     
  9. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,788
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,410 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Your tablet is working with Windows 8.1 "CoreEdition". Is the Windows MediaPlayer part of this edition (see here)?

    That doesn't mean that MediaPortal has the privilege to do so. Your own NAS access is working under your user account while MediaPortal is accessing the server under a system account. However, since you are only experiencing trouble with ts files, it is more likely a firewall problem with the RTSP streams. Switch off the firewalls on both client and server to test this hypothesis.

    By the way: your logs are dated Sep 28. Is this in error?
     
  10. Digsy

    Digsy Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 29, 2018
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Show System Specs
    Yes, it has WMP 12 installed.

    TBH I wouldn't worry too much about the tablet as I was only using it to test the concept of having a second client. It is the NUC-based client I am more concerned about as it was specifically built for this purpose.

    I will test the firewall shortly...
     
  11. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,788
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,410 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Then please post the respective logs in this thread.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!