[solved] - Initital testing with second client - cannot play recorded TV | Page 2

Discussion in 'General' started by Digsy, September 28, 2018.

  1. Digsy

    Digsy Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 29, 2018
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Show System Specs
    They are in the bug report thread but I have attached them again here.

    Also I just turned the firewall off for public and private networks on both my server and my NUC client and re-tested. No difference.


     

    Attached Files:

  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,762
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,408 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Well, was worth the try.

    What does the dialogue look like when you open the context menu for any of the ts recordings in question? Is there a "delete" option?
     
  4. Digsy

    Digsy Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 29, 2018
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Show System Specs
    I have just manually shared both my recorded TV folder and my timeshift folder to "everyone" using Windows Explorer. No difference.
     
  5. Digsy

    Digsy Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 29, 2018
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Show System Specs
    There is on the server machine, but not on the client.
     
  6. BlueMax1916
    • Super User

    BlueMax1916 Super User

    Joined:
    January 29, 2007
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    61
    Ratings:
    +123 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Looks like a network credentials problem on the client. The MP2 Server software is not running in your server's user context. You still need to put in user name and password of your server's user account. Giving access to everyone is the right approach but for example to let the MP2 Server software delete the recordings it needs the rights of a 'user'. 'Everyone' is the sum of all users on a system. The system context the MP2 server software is running with is not a 'user' and does not have access as a user. It does not belong in the 'Everyone' category.

    Cheers

    Blue Max
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,762
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,408 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Then the client cannot access the path. As BlueMax1916 insinuated you do need to define credentials.

    What OS are you using on the server? Keep in mind that Windows 10 is not allowing anonymous connections anymore.

    EDIT: Just looked at your system info, so it's Win 7
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. Digsy

    Digsy Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 29, 2018
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Show System Specs
    I was just about to post up something along similar lines. I just tried to simply connect to the shared recordings folder on my server directly from Windows Explorer but I was prevented from doing so. One of the reasons given was because I could have a "blank password". This is indeed the case. My admin account on the server machine has a username and password but my "everyday" user account does not. On my client at the moment I have a single account with admin rights but still no password. The only exception to this is my tablet which requires a username and password.

    I will try adding the same credentials (i.e my username and leave the password blank) and see if that works.

    The server and NUC both run Windows 7 SP1 with all patches. My tablet runs Windows 8.1 with all patches.
     
  9. Digsy

    Digsy Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 29, 2018
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Show System Specs
    Right...

    For sake of simplicity let's call my "normal" user account on my server machine "user" which has no password, and my "admin" account is called "admin" and the password is "password."

    On my NUC I tried entering my credentials as "user" with no password and re-tested. No difference.
    Then I entered "admin" and "password" and re-tested. No difference.

    Would you like me to post new logs with these tests in them?
     
  10. Digsy

    Digsy Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 29, 2018
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Show System Specs
    Dammit. For a second I thought I had fixed it. :(

    I looked in Control Panel\Network and Internet\Network and Sharing Center\Media streaming options on my server machine and found three devices called Media Portal UPnP renderer which were all blocked. I changed them to "Allowed" and also ticked "Stream my pictures, music, etc..." in Control Panel\Network and Internet\HomeGroup

    Went back to the client and got about 5 seconds of video and then the player stopped. :(

    I can sometimes get about a second of video, with or without putting network credentials into MP. It doesn't seem to matter which set of credentials I use, either. The result is always he same.
     
  11. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,762
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,408 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I believe that you need to set up your recording folder in the TV Config as a UNC path
     
    • Great Idea! Great Idea! x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!