1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[solved] - Latest iMon + Minidisplay

Discussion in 'External Display' started by Kotik, July 4, 2016.

  1. Kotik
    • Premium Supporter

    Kotik MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 19, 2009
    Messages:
    648
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    Ratings:
    +453 / 2
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    Hello guys,

    Got a question, i am using latest iMon manager + MiniDisplay plugin (set to use Sound Graph display for iMon Manager > 8.01) and Titan skin.

    The issue is that when i am using Basic Home then each time i am at the Basic Home menu then VFD is displaying the following: Mediaportal #item name, it does that on each menu in basic home, in classic home it works fine displaying the module name properly. I wonder how u guys work around that?

    In Titan Basic Home editor i properly see the module names set correctly yet VFD doesn't display them.





    Any ideas?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,436
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,160 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    This does not seem to be an issue with MiniDisplay itself as I don't have that issue with another MiniDisplay driver.
    Possibly specific to iMon somehow.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Kotik
    • Premium Supporter

    Kotik MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 19, 2009
    Messages:
    648
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    Ratings:
    +453 / 2
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    I agree, it seems that MP doesn't send the proper info to the VFD. I wonder why tho.
    --- Post updated ---
    Cause if u open Titan Basic Home Editor u will see that it does add a TAG with the menu NAMES.

    Somehow this doesn't reach the VFD. But when i use Classic home it works just fine.
     
  5. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6,958
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +2,990 / 12
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    i have the same problem
    it's not specific to Imon too, you can try to use the dummy minidisplay, it show the same info.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Kotik
    • Premium Supporter

    Kotik MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 19, 2009
    Messages:
    648
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    Ratings:
    +453 / 2
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    Any ideas azzuro on what is the issue? It seems that Basic Home (on both Titan and Default Wide) is not passing the Sub Menu Name to the MiniDisplay plugin. I think MiniDisplay is configured to read Name info from Only Classic Menu and as a result it cannot pull data from a Basic Home menu and ends up displaying #item name cause it simply doesn't get any info regarding that item.

    Untitled.jpg

    Maybe minidisplay is pulling Menu info from this file and when we switch to Basic Home it doesn't know from where to pull data from.

    So it needs further investigation.
     
    Last edited: July 6, 2016
  7. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6,958
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +2,990 / 12
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    I have search few time ago without sucess. But my test on dummy MiniDisplayPlugin was the same result
     
  8. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,436
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,160 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    That's odd cause I don't have that issue on some other MD driver.

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
     
  9. Kotik
    • Premium Supporter

    Kotik MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 19, 2009
    Messages:
    648
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    Ratings:
    +453 / 2
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    I am investigating the issue atm, will report back with more info when i get some:)
     
  10. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6,958
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +2,990 / 12
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
  11. Kotik
    • Premium Supporter

    Kotik MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 19, 2009
    Messages:
    648
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    Ratings:
    +453 / 2
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    Ok got some more info:)

    It seems not all skins are affected but the ones i tried now are. So my theory of MiniDisplay not pulling Data from the correct file is looking good till now.

    I think MiniDisplay expects to find Data in a specific file and when this file is not present or the information is not present in the file then we get this issue.

    Bellow are some screenshots with 3 different skins.

    1. Apollo
    Untitled.jpg

    2. Titan Extended One
    Untitled1.jpg

    3. Default Wide
    Untitled3.jpg

    As u can see 1 and 3 are affected 2 is not but when i set Titan Extended to "Extended Two" then it is affected as well.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Like Us On Facebook

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!