[WiP] - madVR support in MP1 | Page 561

Discussion in 'Area 51 - Testing Area' started by Sebastiii, March 20, 2016.

  1. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,226
    Likes Received:
    6,187
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,178 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Hi :)
    @grabi_2001 does it happen too with EVR?
    @alexdepalma it's strange, will look the logs


     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. grabi_2001

    grabi_2001 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Freiberufler
    Location:
    in den Alpen
    Ratings:
    +79 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Good morning Sebastiii,

    with EVR it works with HDR, it only affects movies with UHD / HDR.
    Enclosed Logs_MadVR and Logs_EVR
    With MadVR, the MP surface is small and is in the upper left half of the screen, see picture.
    With the Nvidia driver 419.35 everything works, not with the new driver.
    The very latest driver is to fix an HDR error:
    AMD, Intel and Nvidia driver issues and last recommended version - Page 9 - Doom9's Forum
    greetings
    Dirk
     

    Attached Files:

    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  4. alexdepalma
    • Premium Supporter

    alexdepalma MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 31, 2008
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    293
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +475 / 0
    Home Country:
    Spain Spain
    Show System Specs
  5. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,226
    Likes Received:
    6,187
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,178 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Nope sorry didn't find why [emoji20]

    Tapatalk
     
  6. nicsergio
    • Premium Supporter

    nicsergio MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 27, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +113 / 0
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    Show System Specs
    Hi everyone

    I'm detecting a little problem with MadVR in MePo: HDR passtrough does not work, playing mkv 4k h265 with HDR the colors are flat and the HDR logo does not appear on the TV.

    Trying the same videos with MPC-HC with MadVR with the same settings, everything works properly and the HDR logo appears on the TV.

    In both cases I use LAV filters v0.74.1 and MadVR v0.92.17.

    My system is with APU AMD 2400G.

    Am I doing something wrong?
    Thank you all for your help.
     
  7. mrmojo666
    • Premium Supporter

    mrmojo666 MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 24, 2006
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    85
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    ALM
    Location:
    Turin
    Ratings:
    +128 / 0
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    Show System Specs
    i can't suggest anything specific sorry, here with rx460 (driver 19.5.2) HDR switch is working ok, generally speaking i know that with amd cards it works ONLY if the desktop bitdepth is set on 10 or 12 bit (don't know if it is only on MP or also for other players).
    Have you already tried to remove amd drivers with DDU and reinstall them from scratch, in the past when i had HDR switching problems , i resolved in this way.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. joecrow
    • Team MediaPortal

    joecrow Test Group

    Joined:
    August 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    700
    Ratings:
    +1,170 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Given that I would not think the problem lies with the amd gpu driver, looks more like an MP issue.
     
  9. nicsergio
    • Premium Supporter

    nicsergio MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 27, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +113 / 0
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    Show System Specs
    Thanks for the reply

    I've already tried cleaning up with DDU before installing the AMD drivers. What I do notice is that these drivers are still "young" and not very stable.
    The version I'm currently using is 19.5.1.

    As for the bitdepth desktop, I normally set it to 8 bits with Full RGB and 60Hz, but I noticed that MPC-HC + MADVR automatically switched to 10 bit (and 23Hz) at the start of the video.
    I had seen that to manually set 10 bits I also have to set YCbCr 4:2:0 (at 60Hz) for the HDMI 2.0 band limits.

    As soon as I have time I will try with Mepo to set the bitdepth fixed at 10 bits, then I'll let you know.
     
  10. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,226
    Likes Received:
    6,187
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,178 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    For testing, can you try to disable refresh rate changer in MP and/or in madvr. [emoji106]

    Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. nicsergio
    • Premium Supporter

    nicsergio MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 27, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    63
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +113 / 0
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    Show System Specs
    OK thanks,

    so far in my tests with madvr, i had disabled the refresh rate changer in MePo and enabled in MadVR, but I will try to re-enable in mepo and not in madvr

    I keep you updated
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!