MediaPortal 2 Easter Build with many surprises :) | Page 2

Discussion in 'General' started by morpheus_xx, April 5, 2012.

  1. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,081
    Likes Received:
    4,765
    Ratings:
    +6,822 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Your log file shows two issue:
    1. You don't have DOKAN 0.53 installed on this client, so you won't be able to access remote media files (not TV related)
    2. SlimTV seems not be able to retrieve channel groups, or it tries to use an invalid group index.
    Did you copy only the binary files or also config files from ProgramData?


     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,081
    Likes Received:
    4,765
    Ratings:
    +6,822 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I am on german windows as well, so it should be fine. What is your setting inside Settings->Appearance->Skin->Date format? I have only a "D" here.

    The new Metadata extractor features are only working when a new share gets imported. The "Reimport" button does only watch for files that have been modified since the last importer run. So you should remove the existing shares and add them new again.
    We are already discussing this procedure to allow also full re-imports, or a more detailed version...
     
  4. flokel
    • Premium Supporter

    flokel Portal Developer

    Joined:
    October 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Unterfranken
    Ratings:
    +157 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    From here:

    You'll find the logs in C:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MP2-Client\Logs\Client.log or C:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MP2-Server\Server.log
     
  5. brunoh

    brunoh Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 8, 2004
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
    Show System Specs

    Thanks for looking at my logs.

    Yes, I only copied the binary files to a client that already had a MP1 client. I did not install the 1. MP2 Alpha-Version before. I was surprised about the 'easy installation'.

    The client did start up successfully and there was no error, I believe.
    I did not test to access remote files, as I was mainly interested in the TV functionality after seting up a new TV-Server. So the correct way would be to install MP2 alpha first to get the installer to do some basics and then the easter-build will work even when the files are copied somewhere else?
    I will try that and also have a look at the part with remote-files.

    The slimtv worked after I changed to no password in mp extended and slimtv-configuration. So it was my fault, I assume.
     
  6. hafblade

    hafblade Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 19, 2011
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Trier, Germany
    Ratings:
    +146 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi.

    MP2 looks really cool but was not able to watch any video files (see the logs). He always showed an error that no video could be played.
     
  7. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,081
    Likes Received:
    4,765
    Ratings:
    +6,822 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    hafblade, seems you have mixed up the alpha and this easter build. please extract the archives to an empty folder and run again.
     
  8. hafblade

    hafblade Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 19, 2011
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Trier, Germany
    Ratings:
    +146 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    oO I thought I had deinstalled and deleted everything of the old build but I suppose you are right. I'll try it again this evening. :)

    MP2 FOR PRESIDENT! :)
     
  9. Spragleknas
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    Spragleknas Administrator

    Joined:
    December 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Occupied
    Location:
    Located
    Ratings:
    +1,892 / 12
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Damn.... Not sure why, but MP2 looks and feels so much fresher than MP1 - even in this state (using Reflexion, ofc - green theme!!!!).

    Haven't found any eggs that I'm sure everyone else has found, tho' - but I haven't gotten around to using (slim)TV - and I just never feel like fiddling around with the default skin when Reflexion is an option (I blame you for that, Morph :D).

    (I need to "greenify" the home-screen-pics.... ;))
     
  10. Pog
    • Premium Supporter

    Pog Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    September 7, 2009
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Wicklow
    Ratings:
    +315 / 1
    Home Country:
    Ireland Ireland
    Show System Specs
    Hi thanks for the update guys looking good...

    I have a problem with the database maxing out at 1GB after importing my music library.
     
  11. guytpetj
    • Premium Supporter

    guytpetj MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 24, 2005
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    53
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Director - Oil and Gas Exploration
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +58 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Prior to testing this release I has a 300MB database.
    Testing this version, following the instructions in first post, my data base has now ballooned to 1.2GB. This is using the same shares as prior to the test.
    Is this an expected increase, or do I have to start bug hunting?

    I love the new series option, but it would even be better if it would do the "filter by season" view by default when you select a series with multiple seasons, not as now showing all episodes.

    This version of MP2 seems to work smooth and without problems on my system.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!