MediaPortal on ITX | Page 5

Discussion in 'General' started by Tinyputers, May 16, 2009.

  1. hoborg

    hoborg Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4,413
    Likes Received:
    1,593
    Location:
    Nový Jičín
    Ratings:
    +1,621 / 2
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Show System Specs
    Hi.
    SAF 3.49b17+ is able to play your example.
    [​IMG]

    PM me for more info


     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. surfermc

    surfermc Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Thanks hoborg.

    I was using 3.47 will give 3.49b17+ a go.
     
  4. stoked
    • Premium Supporter

    stoked MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 14, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    The Ion platform shouldn't have problem with any video thrown at it, however I'm curious about menu speed and MP use in general. Do you find that the menu lags at all? I'm looking at building a Ion HTPC for light use in the kitchen, leaning towards the dual core N330 but curious if the single core would run MP reasonably.
     
  5. surfermc

    surfermc Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    The menu is not the fastest but is perfectly usable. It probably also depends on what skin you are using and where you have your media files. To keep thing slick I'm using Indigo and have turned of animations.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. jiggles

    jiggles New Member

    Joined:
    December 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Yes. It's pretty slow, the EPG particularly so. Bringing up the EPG whilst watching live TV can take a few seconds for example. (I have a dual-core Atom, but I don't think that the second core helps much).
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. stoked
    • Premium Supporter

    stoked MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 14, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Thanks, it's unfortunate the Zotac 9300 mobo doesn't allow undervolting, an undervolted E6300 would make a good ITX cpu.
     
  8. bimbo
    • Premium Supporter

    bimbo MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 2, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    Zotac IONITX-A-E HTPC

    Hi,

    I've build HTPC based on Zotac IONITX-A-E, 2GB RAM, Windows Vista. I'm not satisfied with HDTV performance. I've tried MP as 1.0.2 as 1.1.0 and the latest version CoreAVC and Cyberlink H.264/AVC (8 or 9).
    The average CPU utilization when playing HDTV is about 20-25%, but the frame rate is low (cca 20) and the number of dropped frames is very high.

    It seems that Atom N330 even with ION is not able to play HDTV smoothly :(

    [​IMG]
     
  9. OnkelChris
    • Premium Supporter

    OnkelChris Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 17, 2007
    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    59
    Ratings:
    +59 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    my zotac ion A is arriving tomorrow... will test as soon as I can and hope to get better results ;)
     
  10. bimbo
    • Premium Supporter

    bimbo MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 2, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Czech Republic Czech Republic
    It seems that there is a problem only with HDTV (h.264/AVC). HD movies (720p and 1080p) are playing smoothly without any problem!

    :confused:
     
  11. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,537
    Likes Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,131 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    It's because HDTV is normally interlaced (1080i) - the GPU performs hardware de-interlacing and it's obviously running out of performance to cope with this in addition to running the MP GUI 3D rendering load. There's a whole thread discussing this issue here - https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/1-0-1-svn-builds-313/1080i-material-not-deinterlacing-under-1-0-1-0-a-58486/index9.html#post470166

    Tony
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!