Memory Leak Tvservice | Page 2

Discussion in 'fixed TV-Server / Client Bugs' started by SciDoctor, June 21, 2007.

  1. SciDoctor
    • Premium Supporter

    SciDoctor Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +138 / 0
    Show System Specs
    Another days running and another excessive memory usage level (1.3GB)



    Just updated to the SVN 15025 and testing for today.

    To make it clear the servers run 24/7 one runs w2ksp4
    (1GB mem) the other runs xpsp2(4GB mem)
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. SciDoctor
    • Premium Supporter

    SciDoctor Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +138 / 0
    Show System Specs
    Well seven hours later and the TV service is already using 300K and climbing.

    I also disabled the powerschedular as I thought this may be the problem.

    Logs below
     
  4. gingertom
    • Premium Supporter

    gingertom MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 21, 2006
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    6
    Occupation:
    Telecoms Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Hope this can be sorted out, as I'm about to go tv server root. Well done scidoctor for all the testing
     
  5. gibman
    • Premium Supporter

    gibman Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    October 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,998
    Likes Received:
    1,321
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Aarhus
    Ratings:
    +1,372 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    SciDoctor; Have u tried disabling EPG grabber entirely ?

    Try and keep TVserver as simple as possible.
    Also does it happen when the client is closed ?

    /Gibman
     
  6. SciDoctor
    • Premium Supporter

    SciDoctor Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +138 / 0
    Show System Specs
    The leak is occuring while the TVSERVICE is idle and the DVB-T EPG grabber is working.

    I monitored this very closly since the last post. During a period of continuous recording and timeshifting the memory usage stayed around 350-400K BUT since it was idle the usage has hit 950K in a few hours.

    During recording or timeshifting the memory use flexes as it should but when this is idle the DVB-T grabber is leaking memory continuously.

    Is it linked with this

    9/06/2007 07:47:46 12 dvb:abort grabbing epg
    29/06/2007 07:48:16 13 dvb:abort grabbing epg
    29/06/2007 07:48:46 12 dvb:abort grabbing epg
    29/06/2007 07:49:16 13 dvb:abort grabbing epg
    29/06/2007 07:49:46 13 dvb:abort grabbing epg
    29/06/2007 07:50:16 13 dvb:abort grabbing epg
    29/06/2007 07:50:46 12 dvb:abort grabbing epg
    29/06/2007 07:51:16 13 dvb:abort grabbing epg


    Which has only started since SVN 14824 which is where I have been ssing this memory leak.

    Iwill try turning off the internal OTA DVB-T grabber (not an xml web grab) and run the service afresh.
     
  7. the_it_bloke

    the_it_bloke Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 22, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    [TV-Server Version: 14791
    Windows Version: Server 2K3 V5.2.3790 Service Pack 2 Build 3790
    CPU Type: AMD XP 2GHz
    Memory: 1GB
    Motherboard: MSI KT3 Series
    Motherboard Chipset: Via KT333 / VT8233A
    Motherboard Bios: AMI
    1. TV Card: Hauppauge WinTV Nova-T-500
    1. TV Card Type: DVB-T
    Network speed: 1GB on server, 1GB Switch, 100MB Players
    CVonfiguration: 1 TV Server and 3 Remote Players


    Guys

    I have exactly the same memory leak issue!
    I have just rebuilt (yet again) my complete TV Server, using both XP & W2K3 Server O/S on separate hard drives to see if this was an O/S related issue.
    Over a period of days my memory usage for TVService fills my available RAM (1GB) until the O/S cant run properly and eventially the machine dies. If I go into the TV Server Management Console and Stop and then Start the service manually it will occasionally clear back to around 30MB RAM, but within a day or two it has filled the RAM again.

    I am only running TV Server on this machine and have uninstalled any unnecessary applications or services (without putting the system at risk).

    There is definately something wrong and I can replicate this with every rebuild and it occurs every day.

    Appart from that (i assume to be unrelated) every 17 seconds my CPU hits 100% and this appears to be related to a very high number of SQL quesies running.

    Any help would be greatfully appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  8. the_it_bloke

    the_it_bloke Portal Member

    Joined:
    April 22, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    In addition to my post above, I rebuilt my machine last night using MySQL instead of MSSQL and I am still getting the same memory leak issue :(
     
  9. jcee

    jcee Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 23, 2004
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    In regard to MYSQL:

    I had sometime problems MS SQL Express using (to my understanding) too much memory, it used up to 500MB. (Of 1GB total RAM available)

    I thought MYSQL is more lean than MS SQL, so I thought to give it a try.

    What is your experience

    Of course this has nothing to do with the memory leak.
    BTW: I thought I disabled EPG grab (as I use TVclickfinder). SO I wonder why observed the memory leak here too (have DVB-C)

    Hmmm..

    Is any of the devs currently looking into that?
     
  10. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    MS SQL has an option that can be used to limit the amount of memory its using (for caching etc.).
     
  11. cheezey

    cheezey Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    August 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    315
    Occupation:
    Technical architect
    Location:
    West Yorks, UK
    Ratings:
    +315 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Yep - right there in the manual <-README->
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!