MovingPictures 1.5 Crashes when editing movie names

Discussion in 'Moving Pictures' started by John0502, March 18, 2013.

  1. John0502

    John0502 Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +6 / 1
    Home Country:
    I have just installed Mediaportal 1.3 FINAL on a newly installed Windows 7 SP1 PC with all MS patches. The version of Moving Pictures that runs on MP 1.3 is 1.5.1.14(something). Moving Pictures auto imports quite well. However, for some movies that are not imported, I use the feature to adjust its name (edit it) and re-import to see if it is found with a name adjustment. This feature worked well in Moving Pictures on MP 1.2.3.

    However, when I do this in MP 1.3, Moving pictures crashes with a 'Continue' or 'Exit' option. Whichever is chosen the movie scan screen (where movies are shown to be corrected) just goes white with red lines in a cross form and that is it.

    I have tried re-installing Moving Pictures. I use StreamedMP as my skin - removed it too and re-installed moving pictures - nothing prevents the crash.

    Is there something I am missing in this version combination of Mediaportal and MovingPictures?


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. John0502

    John0502 Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +6 / 1
    Home Country:
    Looks like I made a mistake. I used the 'Add as blank (editable) Movie' tab instead of the 'Rescan selected File(s) with Custom Search String.'. All working fine now. Cant' even think how I made that mistake..:unsure:
     
  4. Argai

    Argai Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 1, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    @John0502
    Even if you used the wrong button for your purpose, the problem is still there.

    I've the same problem
    Rescan the file with a found ID is no problem. Adding files with no known info is a problem.
    If I use the button "Add as blank (editable) movie" ,
    * the moving pictures configuration crashes.
    * As John0502 describes, a big red cross apears in the mainwindow of the importer.
    * After a restart, the file that I wanted to add, is no longer in the list and is not imported anymore. (and not in the list of movies)

    After the 3th attemp, MP config also crashed.
    I use MP1.3 and updated Movpic to 1.5.1.1487

    before I updated to MP1.3 en movpic to 1.5.1.xxxx, everything worked fine.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. John0502

    John0502 Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +6 / 1
    Home Country:
    @Argai

    Quite correct - the actual feature of creating a blank (editable) movie does crash Moving Pictures. I found that when I try to add a blank move, I hit 'Continue' when it crashes and exit MediaPortal in the normal way saving as I go (ie. click on 'Ok' etc), when I go back into the Moving pictures config GUI, the movie does appear in the imported screen with obviously not many entries which can be edited. The movie no longer appears in the importer screen too.

    This may be a workaround until the issue is fixed perhaps.

    I was using the same version of Moving Pictures in Mediaportal 1.2.3 - I found it crashed in the same way! I just never used that feature there before so I never noticed it previously.
     
    Last edited: March 22, 2013
  6. pody

    pody Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 20, 2012
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    The same thing happens to me so there is one video I can't add into my database because of this. I just have to leave it be or else it crashes the whole configuration. :/
     
  7. ltfearme
    • Premium Supporter

    ltfearme Community Plugin Dev

    Joined:
    June 10, 2007
    Messages:
    6,462
    Likes Received:
    4,250
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Test Engineer
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +5,394 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    I put a fix in for this so should be in next maintenance release.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  8. IndoDanny

    IndoDanny Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Indonesia Indonesia
    I have the same problem over and over with several movies. Due to this I can't import new movies and I'm not using MP for now. I hope the fix will come soon, as I have this problem now for a couple of months. I have this when I select "Rescan selected file and add as blanc"Thank you.
     
    Last edited: March 24, 2013
  9. RoChess
    • Premium Supporter

    RoChess Extension Developer

    Joined:
    March 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,186
    Likes Received:
    1,304
    Ratings:
    +1,683 / 2
    Granted there is an issue with blank/non-imdb movies, but that normally only qualifies for a super small percentage of a normal collection. For the time being you could just use the MyVideos plugin to deal with those home movies and import them into MovPic later.

    Now if you have a problem with IMDb movies getting automatically matched up, then you might require some tweaking to the noise filter, or use alternative methods such as NFO files containing the IMDb tt-ID. If you have any examples of filenames (and content of NFO files, etc), then I can possibly assist you in finding out why your movies are not automatically importing.
     
  10. Argai

    Argai Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 1, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    See my post earlier.
    I installed earlier decreated versions. version 1.5.0 kept the problem. Version 1.4.1 works perfectly - concerning adding blank movies. So the movie is listed and I can go back installing v1.5.1

    Q: the files I tried to add with blank movie are gone (not from my hdd, thank god). So MovPic handels them als recongnized, but are not
    where can I find the ini or logfiles, where I can remove these entry's

    @RoChess
    I have a dvd-set that I can not add, although I have a imdb-id
    Rescan does not work
    Slayers - Next dvd box (3 dvd's) IMDB tt0144611
     
  11. RoChess
    • Premium Supporter

    RoChess Extension Developer

    Joined:
    March 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,186
    Likes Received:
    1,304
    Ratings:
    +1,683 / 2
    That is not what you use 'add blank' movie for though, but the binocular icon to supply missing data (title, year, imdb-id).

    It can also happen that files got imported incorrect or added to the ignore list. Use the gear icon inside importer tab for that.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!