[solved] - MP1-4585 Generic HID input device support for MCE buttons

Discussion in 'Area 51 - Testing Area' started by Stéphane Lenclud, December 20, 2014.

  1. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,563
    Likes Received:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    This work is now part of MediaPortal v1.11



    I've reworked our Generic HID support for better handling various input devices including remotes and keyboards.
    I would appreciate any kind of testing you could do using the following installer:
    http://tinyurl.com/nwg5fgr (LATEST)

    It's MP 1.10 with the 'Generic HID' changes.
    I'm especially looking for people using the current 'General HID' to test this new implementation for possible regressions.
    People using 'Microsoft MCE' configuration should also be able to switch to the new 'Generic HID'.
    People using Sceneo configuration and not using the mouse features should also try and switch to 'Generic HID'.

    Here is what the configuration page looks like now:
    upload_2014-12-26_21-54-32.png

    upload_2014-12-26_21-54-48.png

    See also JIRA MP-4585.

    With those changes I'm aiming at replacing a few HID specific implementation we already have. In fact if the HID specs are implemented properly there should be no need specific implementation for MCE Remote eHome devices or not. As this new implementation matures it should be able to handle any HID device out there thus reducing the need for device specific configurations and making it easier for MP user to setup their input devices.
     
    Last edited: April 14, 2015
    • Like Like x 2
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    550
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +974 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I have used the mapping support on the "Microsoft MCE" tab for use with my MCE remote, and also the mapping support on the "Sceneo" tab for use with my Ortek remote. I am not exactly clear how this relates to the changes that you are making, but if the intention is to replace all HID support with the new software (hence affecting MCE and Ortek), then yes, I would definitely want mapping support! (But I may have misunderstood what you are proposing.)

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
  4. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,563
    Likes Received:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I usually go straight to the XML file rather than toy arround with the UI. Alright then point taken, I'll see how I can get that mapping UI working.

    This one change only involves refactoring of the 'General HID' in such a way that you should be able to use it as is for both your MCE and Ortek remotes. However you will still be able to use MCE and Sceneo configuration.
    Later on we could remove them if the Generic HID turns out to be good enough.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  5. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,563
    Likes Received:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    @Developers @Testers
    Is any one using this "Support input even if MP is in background" option?
    Care to explain the use of it for me?
    I'm planning to implement such an option too but I would like to deprecate the current implementation and I'm trying to understand what are people using this for.
     
  6. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,269
    Likes Received:
    6,221
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,229 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    No clue lol
    Maybe to let MP react to something like with mptray ? but i'm not sure.
     
  7. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,269
    Likes Received:
    6,221
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,229 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Or eventghost ?
     
  8. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Not using it myself, but presumably it is used by people that want MP to receive input when not focussed.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    550
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +974 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    When I need to use a keyboard with my HTPC, the one that I use has dedicated keys for media center functions (stop, play/pause, forward, backward, plus shortcuts to go directly to various MC panels -- TV, videos, music, pictures). So one could imagine the scenario where one is working on (say) a Word document, whilst playing music and wanting to control that music without having to switch to the MC window, i.e. most keystrokes go to the window with the focus, but the MC keystrokes go to the MC window. I don't know whether this demarcation is possible, so it may be that all keystrokes go to both windows, but each window ignores the keystrokes that are not relevant to it. (I have never used this capability, with WMC or MediaPortal.)

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
  10. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,563
    Likes Received:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Good point maybe that's what it does. I'll try test it and see what I get.
     
  11. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,563
    Likes Received:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I've updated the installer link above, that new version includes fixes for button repeat behavior and volume.
    The Mapping dialog has also been fixed.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!