[solved] - MP1-4585 Generic HID input device support for MCE buttons | Page 8

Discussion in 'Area 51 - Testing Area' started by Stéphane Lenclud, December 20, 2014.

  1. high
    • Team MediaPortal
    • IT-Admin

    high Administrator

    Joined:
    August 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4,748
    Likes Received:
    3,122
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Sysadmin
    Location:
    Isselburg/NRW
    Ratings:
    +4,838 / 6
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    just a bit slow but that can happen from time to time on virtual server. At least it starts fine: http://tinyurl.com/oqccj45 (login:mediaportal/mpsvn)


     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,563
    Likes Received:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    @edterbak I've updated the installer link on the first post.
    All your issues with button repeat should be gone.
    The only buttons supporting repeat with the new configuration are volume and channel increment/decrement.
     
  4. edterbak
    • Team MediaPortal

    edterbak Test Group

    Joined:
    March 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,114
    Likes Received:
    736
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Researcher
    Ratings:
    +1,178 / 5
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Ok thanks.
    I will install this build tonight.

    Are arrow repeats supported as wel? You dont mention that, but I think you have that as well :)
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  5. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,563
    Likes Received:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Arrows are not handled by HID they come in as keyboard events so they will repeat just like the rest of your keyboard.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. edterbak
    • Team MediaPortal

    edterbak Test Group

    Joined:
    March 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,114
    Likes Received:
    736
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Researcher
    Ratings:
    +1,178 / 5
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Stephane,

    Tested more.
    What I see is that Generic HID does repeat back/pause button, while MCE remote does not.
    I am using a harmony remote, maybe that makes a difference. But I don't know.

    Here is a log of the test with Generic HID. Hope it tells you something more than just these words.

    [edit]
    sorry for being slow in response. Im in the process of buying a house. :) time consuming.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,563
    Likes Received:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    That's really odd. I'm not seeing this with the latest intaller. Did you customize your actions on your last test run? Search for generic-hid.xml file in MP programdata and delete it, then try again.
     
  8. edterbak
    • Team MediaPortal

    edterbak Test Group

    Joined:
    March 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,114
    Likes Received:
    736
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Researcher
    Ratings:
    +1,178 / 5
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    sorry, no. nothing.
    plain install and then switch between the two. :(
    It is strange indeed.
     
  9. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,563
    Likes Received:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Are you sure you did not change the mapping last week for instance?
    Can you search for copy of a file named generic-hid.xml on your installation drive?
     
  10. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,563
    Likes Received:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Looking at your logs it looks like you have the AppCommands enabled which could explain your duplicate events.
    Though possible you should not be using "Media" together with "HID" unless you know what you are doing :)

    Just disable Media.
     
    Last edited: January 20, 2015
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  11. edterbak
    • Team MediaPortal

    edterbak Test Group

    Joined:
    March 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,114
    Likes Received:
    736
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Researcher
    Ratings:
    +1,178 / 5
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    ahhh.. YES... you are right
    I see now I have Media enabled indeed together with HID. . So this is user error.

    Now tested again with media unticked: Issue with repeating is gone. 100% ok now. Great!

    But: I have a BT keyboard with media keys, togeter with a logitech remote. So obviously, I think I need to enable both. (proven incorrect now) THis is unclear from within the configuration.exe. I think there should be some more information like popups/F1help which help the user to prevent this error. Maybe a popup if both are enabled making the user aware of possible issues. OK/Cancel. Just thinking out loud here. You know what is best/easiest.

    Long story short. (user error) issue gone.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!