[Bug] - [MP2-611] Teletext subtitles language selection

Discussion in 'Submit: Bug Reports' started by snz, April 21, 2019.

  1. snz

    snz Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 28, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    MediaPortal 2 Version: 2.2.1

    Description
    I seem to have some issues with teletext subtitles in 2.2.1.



    One issue is that the does not always show (this happens on TV channels using DVB subtitles as well as DVB teletext subtitles), even if I have selected sub language in the on screen menu. Usually they appear on the first channel I watch, but after a channel switch it seems they are not always shown.

    Also, it seems that channels with multiple language teletext subtitles (i.e. channels with multiple teletext subtitle streams, where each language has its own teletext page number), all of the different languages are shown, regardless of what language I have chosen in the on screen menu.

    Then I also have issues with the placements of the subtitle, but I think that was a known issue.

    Steps to Reproduce:
    Watch DVB channel with multiple teletext subtitles
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. aspik
    • Team MediaPortal

    aspik Development Group

    Joined:
    April 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    353
    Ratings:
    +578 / 1
    would it be possible for you to share a short sample TS video with multiple language teletext subtitles?

    we are aware of placement issues with teletext subtitles in window mode. Do you have issues in full screen?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. snz

    snz Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 28, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    I've added a sample here: Ge.tt | Gett sharing

    I have only tested 2.2.1 on my laptop, since my TV setup is still running an old MP version, and the laptop screen resolution is a somewhat odd 3200x1800, and the teletext subs are located in the upper left area of the screen both when in windowed mode as well as when I alt+enter to fullscreen. I don't know if there are different types of fullscreen modes in MP2, please let me know if so and I'll test.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  5. aspik
    • Team MediaPortal

    aspik Development Group

    Joined:
    April 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    353
    Ratings:
    +578 / 1
    Thanks! I can reproduce it. We didn't have many test data with teletext subs.. I'll check it in more detail and let you know.
     
  6. superforever

    superforever Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 13, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +11 / 1
    I think the problem is related to fonts scaling on TV because on 4K or FHD TV we always use 125 to 200% scaling. I changed it to 100% like on desktop computer it is fine with subtitle size and position. If I remember it correctly MP1 have this scaling problem before.

    Of course we can't always do that because 100% is not readable on TV.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2019
  7. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,505
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,373 / 21
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Have a look at the settings file. Maybe it is possible to change the font size there:
     
  8. superforever

    superforever Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 13, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +11 / 1
    Just found that the live TV subtitle for SD channel is very tiny no matter what fonts size.
     
  9. aspik
    • Team MediaPortal

    aspik Development Group

    Joined:
    April 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    353
    Ratings:
    +578 / 1
    Please try the attached .dll. Make a backup of the current one and replace it with the attached one. Location is c:\Program Files (x86)\Team MediaPortal\MP2-Client\Plugins\VideoPlayers\

    I could reproduce it and I know why it's currently not working with multiple language teletext subtitles. When I fix it, I'll provide another dll for testing.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. superforever

    superforever Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 13, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +11 / 1
    Tried seem the same, SD channel very tiny and HD channel only works with 100% fonts.

    Also tried with TV and PC at the same channel (clients) and both 100% fonts, I found that sometime the TV won't display subtitle even the PC have it at the same time.

    Also the yellow button didn't work to change subtitle.
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2019
  11. aspik
    • Team MediaPortal

    aspik Development Group

    Joined:
    April 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    353
    Ratings:
    +578 / 1
    did you test also with the sample you posted? With this I get normal font size on full screen.
    sorry, I can't reproduce it here.
    I'm not using those color buttons, so can't say. @HTPCSourcer what's the expected behavior on live tv for the yellow button?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!