[Installation] - No channels available | Page 2

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1.1.0 BETA 1' started by mylle, August 29, 2009.

  1. jof
    • Premium Supporter

    jof MP Donator

    Joined:
    December 10, 2007
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    14
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Why are you all import the channellist you can simply use the old database:

    - a present TV-Server database will be upgraded and can be reused




    I did this and I hat all channels and settings as before.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. infinite.loop
    • Team MediaPortal

    infinite.loop Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 26, 2004
    Messages:
    16,163
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4,154 / 7
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    As we said a zillion times.
    1.1.0 will require a _clean instllation_.
    Upgrading a present Tv-Server DB from 1.0.x "should" work (it does here), but there is no guarantee for that.
    Also the im/export was heaviely reworked since the 1.0.2 release which will cause the issue you see when importing backups.

    So again, this lead to the statement that 1.1.0 -> requires a clean installation <-.

    Btw. mylle, your first post does nowhere near match the bugreport posting guideline.
    Please read and follow the next time you post a bugreport.
    :D
     
  4. chuvke

    chuvke Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 30, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi,

    Just a suggestion:
    I guess if the import function isn't compatible with previous versions, at least a warning would be usefull.
    Especially because this function is used to get from one version to another without losing settings.

    Greets,
    Chuvke
     
  5. infinite.loop
    • Team MediaPortal

    infinite.loop Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 26, 2004
    Messages:
    16,163
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4,154 / 7
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    Problem is that there is no versioning in exported xml files as far as i know.
    So TV-Server Configuration does not know if the xml is supported or not.
    I will forward this to the devs. Maybe someone has an idea. ;)
     
  6. Cooler

    Cooler Portal Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    htpc/mce builder
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    no canaal digitaal

    :eek:wierd problem wen i scan 19E 23.5 i get lots of channels but not canaal digitaal provider and thats the one i need this has always worked
    are there more people who have this problem:mad::mad::mad:
     
  7. infinite.loop
    • Team MediaPortal

    infinite.loop Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 26, 2004
    Messages:
    16,163
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4,154 / 7
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    how about creating your own bugreport where you attach logs of the scan???
    crystal ball is broken, so no clue about what is going on in your pc. :D
     
  8. Marcusb
    • Team MediaPortal

    Marcusb Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0
    OK, I had the same issue as well with my recent upgrade.
    The issue is with the different import/export procedure.

    A solution is to open the MpTvDb database in SQL Studio Express and open the Channel table. There is a new field in there called ExternalID. I just added a 1 to this entry in each line and everything seems to be working now. I figure maybe the import process should be revamped to auto fill missing data? There's another thread on this with more devs looking at, so I'll post there too.

    Of course, this is still no substitute for a clean install, but will get you going if you have a lot of channels and don't want to start all over. Just be sure that if you have any issues after this that you test on a clean install as well.

    Edit: here is the other thread - https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/mediaportal-1-1-0-alpha-453/tv-no-longer-working-66958/
     
  9. stefanbaar

    stefanbaar Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 31, 2007
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Holstebro
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    I had the same problem. I made a clean install both Windows and MP 1.1 beta. Scanned for channels and got preview working inside tvserver configuration, but no channels inside MP.

    But I think it has something to do with the radiochannels. After I deleted all the webradiochannels and tv channels I made a rescan of the tv channels and now the tv channels are working inside MP.

    Tvguide is not working. I am using the xmltv plugin. <--- fixed (grabed new tvguide.xml and imported)
     
  10. infinite.loop
    • Team MediaPortal

    infinite.loop Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 26, 2004
    Messages:
    16,163
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4,154 / 7
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    sounds like a broken/corrupted database to me.
     
  11. stefanbaar

    stefanbaar Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 31, 2007
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Holstebro
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    You are probably right. But I made a clean install of windows and MP twice. And the same problem occurred 1. and 2. time. So this must be a bug...
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!