One Button Random Music?

Discussion in 'Listen Music' started by dabbith, November 19, 2008.

  1. dabbith

    dabbith Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 7, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    13
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Is there any way to map a button on my remote (or keyboard shortcut) to start playing random music? I'm using the Microsoft MCE remote. I want something I can use with the screen off (projector, takes a while to warm up).

    Thanks!

    You can find the One Button Music plugin by hwahrmann here One Button Music


    Version 2.0.1
    -------------
    Compatible with MP 1.2 (Download section updated)

    Version 2.0
    -----------
    Compatible with MP 1.2 Beta (Use file attached to this thread)


    Version 1.9
    -------------

    Added "AutoPlay on Home" - Playback starts, when returning to Home / Basic Home
    Added "AutoPlay on Inactivity" - Playback starts after n-secs of inactivity on ANY screen
    "Load from Folder" can now be mapped to a Remote button as well
    Different actions can be assigned to the various AutoPlay functions

    Version 1.8
    -------------

    Added "AutoPlay on startup" and "Autoplay on Resume"
    Added Tooltips to the various controls
    "Same Artist" option, assigned to a Remote Button, clears playlist and loads songs from the curently played artist
    "Same Album" option, assigned to a Remote Button, clears playlist and loads all songs from the currently played album
    When the Playlist textbox is empty in numeric button definition, then the currently loaded playlist is used. This can be used to shuffle the currently loaded playlist over and over.

    Version 1.7
    -------------



    When selecting Random songs, the minimum rating can be specified. e.g. Only select random songs with rating > 3.

    Version 1.6 (thanks to Scandermore for the development)
    -------------------------------------------------------------------
    Added option "Play the current playlist" as an action for "Play" button
    Added option to get random songs on numeric buttons. Use it if you have the Play button mapped to play the current playlist

    Version 1.5
    -------------
    Playlists containong Internet streams were not played
    Plugin is now distributed in MPInstaller format
     
    • Like Like x 13
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. thesystemera

    thesystemera Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    22
    Occupation:
    Audio Engineer, Media Guru
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    That is a cool idea, especially if you integrate it with Last.fm plugin. That way it won't be so random but something you will most likely like :)
     
  4. fabien44

    fabien44 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 12, 2006
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    33
    Ratings:
    +33 / 1
    Maybe you can use the SmartPlaylist plugin to generate random playlist. It's not in 1 click but 2 or 3 maximum
     
  5. dabbith

    dabbith Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 7, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    13
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    My problem is that I don't want to turn on the screen, so anything more than one click ends up being too much.

    Right now I cheat. I have a 2nd sound card that's continually playing a huge playlist in Foobar hooked up to an extra input on my receiver. It works, but it just seems like a convoluted way to do things, plus I don't have an easy way to skip tracks I don't like.

    I'm actually considering hooking my 200 CD changer back up, but that seems really silly when I've got my entire CD collection on my PC.

    Maybe I can set up a macro to click the sequence I need. I just need to figure out a repeatable sequence that will always get me to the right place.
     
  6. thesystemera

    thesystemera Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    22
    Occupation:
    Audio Engineer, Media Guru
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Yeah come on guys... This is just one of those ideas that really makes a system have that WOW factor... We have two choices that should be remarkably easy... The first is to use "my last.fm radio" with the "my webradio option" activated in launch... I don't know, isn't there possibly like a hyperlink or something that could do this... I agree with dabbith, it's a great idea... You come home with a date, pick up your remote and boom, there you go, music you like :)

    The other option being obviously the audo scrubbler... Some one out there is really smart and just waiting to tell us how to do this :)
     
  7. thesystemera

    thesystemera Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    22
    Occupation:
    Audio Engineer, Media Guru
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    BUMP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Yeah sorry guys, but gotta, this is so worth it.....
     
  8. hwahrmann
    • Team MediaPortal

    hwahrmann Development Group

    Joined:
    September 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,497
    Likes Received:
    1,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Ratings:
    +2,266 / 1
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Sorry, Code freeze. Can't do anything here.
    Maybe we can do something with a plugin, but i still need to check.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. SpudR
    • Team MediaPortal

    SpudR Documentation Group

    Joined:
    July 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,604
    Likes Received:
    449
    Occupation:
    CTO, MD
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +676 / 2
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    This keeps getting requested - it'll happen whenever the 'feature freeze' is lifted.
     
  10. thesystemera

    thesystemera Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    22
    Occupation:
    Audio Engineer, Media Guru
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Oh right, because it's an internal plug-in... That is a bummes, seems so simple!! Understand though.. AARRRGG!!! Please do what you guys have to do.. I want Bling factor :D
     
  11. hwahrmann
    • Team MediaPortal

    hwahrmann Development Group

    Joined:
    September 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,497
    Likes Received:
    1,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Ratings:
    +2,266 / 1
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Don't worry. The plugin is already playing on my side :)

    if i find some more time, you'll have somegthing by tommorow.
     
    • Like Like x 3
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!