1.10.0 - Problems with specific Webradio-Streams | Page 3

Discussion in 'Archive' started by Requiem, February 21, 2015.

  1. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    The Wireshark trace looks okay to me.
    You can see the BASS request going out, and the server seems to respond and start sending the audio stream within ~30 ms.
    The DNS also seems to be okay... although it is done with IPv6 instead of IPv4.
    I wonder: can you try to temporarily disable IPv6 on the client? Sorry but it's the only thing I can think of.


     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Requiem
    • Premium Supporter

    Requiem MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 1, 2012
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +174 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    No visible (audible) change in behaviour. THis is another WS protocol with IPv6 disabled.[DOUBLEPOST=1424551495][/DOUBLEPOST]The behaviour also stays the same when disabling IPv6 connections in the router and also when port forwarding all IPv6 protocols to the client.
     

    Attached Files:

    • wireshark.zip
      File size:
      427.3 KB
      Uploaded:
      February 21, 2015
      Views:
      137
  4. Requiem
    • Premium Supporter

    Requiem MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 1, 2012
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +174 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Any options left about what I can do? Where is the hardcoded timeout, maybe I can compile my own version of the BASS engine?[DOUBLEPOST=1424621928][/DOUBLEPOST]By the way, same problem on my desktop PC (which is a new, blazing fast machine). Disabling IPv6 on my router does not change anything.
     
    Last edited: February 22, 2015
  5. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,297
    Likes Received:
    6,249
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,270 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    @hwahrmann to know if we can put an higher value :) I think it's hardcoded somewhere.
    For sure it seems related to something on network but really weird, i have retry and it's ok too.

    Can you try to change your DNS in your local network and even disable all other network card except the LAN you use for internet ?
    Mine is set to google dns :
    8.8.8.8 (primary)
    8.8.4.4 (secondary)
    :p
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  6. Requiem
    • Premium Supporter

    Requiem MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 1, 2012
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +174 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Thank you, Sebastii. Unfortunately, this also does not change behaviour.
    I have set the Google Public DNS Servers both fot IPv4 as well as IPv6, both in Windows and my Router's config.
    Really weird behaviours, especially as other servers are working as expected. My ISP does not do any throttling or filtering.

    @hwahrmann Maybe this timeout could be made configurable, at least in advanced options or in .xml config file?
     
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Sorry, I'm out of ideas.
    I would also guess that increasing the timeout won't help. Like I said previously, the Wireshark trace seems to show that the stream is received very quickly... so the current timeout setting (10 seconds) is probably already massive overkill.
     
  8. Requiem
    • Premium Supporter

    Requiem MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 1, 2012
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +174 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Thank you, @mm1352000. I wonder why it fails on my clients in MediaPortal while in VLC it starts immediately. If it was a network issue, it should affect VLC as well, I guess.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    True... but then why do the say streams work for other people. :)
    Please also keep in mind that BASS is a 3rd party library. We integrated it to get music playback support... but we can't check and explain the inner workings.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. hwahrmann
    • Team MediaPortal

    hwahrmann Development Group

    Joined:
    September 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,502
    Likes Received:
    1,640
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Ratings:
    +2,267 / 1
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    mm1352000 is correct. We can't look inside the internals of BASS.
    As the log indicates, you are running into a timeout, meaning the stream is not delivered within the default of 5 seconds.
    I am using the default of 5 seconds.

    You mentioned, that you would be able to compile your own versioin of MP. If this is true, you can give it a try.

    in Core\MusicPlayer\BASS\MusicStream.cs insert after line 313, this is the line with the "Bass.BASS_SetConfig":

    Code (Text):
    1. Bass.BASS_SetConfig(BASSConfig.BASS_CONFIG_NET_TIMEOUT, 10000);
    This will wait then up to 10 Seconds.

    If you have troubles i can compile a version for you.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
  11. Requiem
    • Premium Supporter

    Requiem MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 1, 2012
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +174 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Thank you. I have not yet set up my Desktop to build myself, but I'm always interested in learning and am cloning the master branch in GitHub for Windows as I type. Will be busy the next few days with work, I'll get back when I have tested. Thanks![DOUBLEPOST=1424688578][/DOUBLEPOST]Surprise. I tested something else on my Desktop PC. I have the Windows 10 pre release installed in a VM. Did a fresh Installation of MP there, only typed my TV Servers adress in config - and it's playing. But it took a while (nearly 5 seconds) to start on the first attempt, got faster on restart. I am really curious what is causing this...
     
    Last edited: February 23, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!