[fixed] - RC2: MCE Remote not working

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1.1.0 RC 1 & 2' started by Mouch.net, April 14, 2010.

  1. Mouch.net

    Mouch.net Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 6, 2007
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Architect
    Location:
    La Calamine
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    Home Country:
    Belgium Belgium
    Show System Specs
    I updated my RC1 to RC2 and since then got only few key working on MCE Remote :(

    Working keys so far:
    - directions arrows (top, right, bottom, left)
    - OK Button

    Not Working keys;
    - Green button
    - Play, Pause, Stop, ...
    - Info
    - Back

    Already try to reset mapping, disable and re-enable remote.
    Nothing helped.
    Even Green Button is not working in combination with MPTray to start MePo.

    Someone an idea or the same problem?


    MediaPortal Version: 1.1.0 RC2
    MediaPortal Skin: StreamedMP
    Windows Version: Windows Server 2008 R2 x64
    CPU Type: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4850e
    HDD: 1x Samsung 500GB 7200RPM - 1x Samsung 2TB 5400rpm
    Memory: 8GB DDR 800Mhz GSkill
    Motherboard: ASUS M3A78-EMH HDMI
    Video Card: ATI HD5450 1GB GDDR3
    Video Card Driver: Catalyst 10.2
    Sound Card: Ati HDMI
    Sound Card AC3: Ati HDMI
    Sound Card Driver: Catalyst 10.2
    1. TV Card: TT-Budget S2-3200
    1. TV Card Type: DVB-S2
    1. TV Card Driver: 5.0.2.1
    2. TV Card: KNC DVB-S2
    2. TV Card Type: DVB-S2
    2. TV Card Driver: 2.1.202.0
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec: SAF 4.00
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: ffdshow
    h.264 Video Codec: SAF 4.00
    Satelite/CableTV Provider: Astra 19.2°E / Hotbird 13.0°E
    HTPC Case: Antec Fusion
    Cooling: Scythe Ninja Mini
    Power Supply: Enermax Liberty ELT500AWT
    Remote: MCE Remote IR - Logitech Harmony 550
    TV: Philips Cineos 37PF9631D/10
    TV - HTPC Connection: HDMI


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. infinite.loop
    • Premium Supporter

    infinite.loop Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 26, 2004
    Messages:
    16,163
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4,154 / 7
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    Can not confirm that.
    Using the MS MCE remote on 4 HTPCs with RC2. All are working fine.

    You are using an not supported Operating System. Windows Server 2008 R2 x64

    What I can say when looking at your logs is that you have quite a few issues there, including a possibly broken music database.

    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. 2010-04-14 22:43:36.216828 [ERROR][(11)]: SQLiteClient: MusicVids.db3 cmd:sqlite3_prepare16:pvm=null err:ERROR detailed:no such table: Artists query:select artistName from Artists;
    3. 2010-04-14 22:43:38.617816 [ERROR][(14)]: Exception   :System.Net.WebException: The remote server returned an error: (404) Not Found.
    4.    at System.Net.HttpWebRequest.EndGetResponse(IAsyncResult asyncResult)
    5.    at System.Net.WebClient.GetWebResponse(WebRequest request, IAsyncResult result)
    6.    at System.Net.WebClient.DownloadBitsResponseCallback(IAsyncResult result)
    7.  
    Same goes for your TvServer.
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. 2010-04-14 18:54:02.748740 [SetupTv(1)]: Exception   :System.IO.FileLoadException: Could not load file or assembly 'Gentle.Framework, Version=1.5.0.29053, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=80b5de62e27be49b' or one of its dependencies. The located assembly's manifest definition does not match the assembly reference. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80131040)
    3. File name: 'Gentle.Framework, Version=1.5.0.29053, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=80b5de62e27be49b'
    4.    at SetupTv.Sections.BackupSettingsSetup.SaveSettings()
    5.    at SetupTv.SetupTvSettingsForm.SaveSectionSettings(TreeNode currentNode)
    6.    at SetupTv.SetupTvSettingsForm.SaveSectionSettings(TreeNode currentNode)
    7.    at SetupTv.SetupTvSettingsForm.SaveAllSettings()
    8.    at SetupTv.SetupTvSettingsForm.applyButton_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
    9.    at SetupTv.SetupTvSettingsForm.okButton_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
    10.  
    I am starting to wondering if it was a wise idea to allow upgrading of RC1 installations. Because users who allready have a slightly messed up system, wont make things better with the update.
    And if you add not well working community plugins into the mix, things get out of control.

    My advice is a complete reinstallation. Clean. No old files used.
    Export your TvChannels/schedules/ect. inside Tv Server Configuration before you do so.
     
  4. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    What have I always said about upgrades? :D Sorry, couldn't resist, but in MP's ecosystem there are too many "moving parts" that are out of our control and it makes the upgrades just like Russian roulette.

    What comes to the MCE remote issue itself, I cannot confirm the bug.
     
  5. romuz
    • Premium Supporter

    romuz Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,045
    Likes Received:
    125
    Location:
    Moskau
    Ratings:
    +126 / 0
    Home Country:
    Russian Federation Russian Federation
    I agree. Even if i have upgrade ability, i prefer to reinstall with complete cleanup(including DB)
     
  6. Mouch.net

    Mouch.net Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 6, 2007
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Architect
    Location:
    La Calamine
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    Home Country:
    Belgium Belgium
    Show System Specs

    I think that's what I'm gonna try :D
    Cause remote is still working fine with other programs like WMP.
     
  7. Tuomaa

    Tuomaa Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 21, 2007
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +89 / 0
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    I can confirm this issue. After upgrading from RC1 to RC2 only arrows and OK buttons work. I'm also using unsupported server 2008 R2. Only workaround I have found so far is selecting HID instead of MCE in mediaportal settings, but still some buttons won't work.
    Mouch, let me know if clean install solves this... :D
     
  8. dreamdx

    dreamdx Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 3, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Same prob over here on 2008r2. Isnt it nice if something gets "fixed" ?
     
  9. Spragleknas
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    Spragleknas Administrator

    Joined:
    December 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,472
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Occupied
    Location:
    Located
    Ratings:
    +1,892 / 12
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    As said above, please try a clean RC2

    If problem persist, follow guidelines for reporting bugs IF your OS is supported.
     
  10. Mouch.net

    Mouch.net Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 6, 2007
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Architect
    Location:
    La Calamine
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    Home Country:
    Belgium Belgium
    Show System Specs
    deleting and fresh installing right now...
    I will report results ASAP ;)
     
  11. dreamdx

    dreamdx Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 3, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Oh yeah, forgot to post. Same prob on a fresh install.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!