[fixed] - RC2: MCE Remote not working | Page 2

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1.1.0 RC 1 & 2' started by Mouch.net, April 14, 2010.

  1. Mouch.net

    Mouch.net Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 6, 2007
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Architect
    Location:
    La Calamine
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    Home Country:
    Belgium Belgium
    Show System Specs
    Ok, then I cancel fresh install... :(



    Isn't it possible to check this issue, even if os is not supported. I know this means more work. :oops:
    But it looks like there are some people using 2008 r2 and it was working fine until now.

    PLEAAAAAAASE
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. cpsarros

    cpsarros Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 3, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    DevTeam:
    File: mediaportal\RemotePlugins\Remotes\MCE2005Remote\MediaPortal.Hardware\Remote.cs
    Method: private void OnReadComplete(IAsyncResult asyncResult)
    Line:
    if (OSInfo_OSInfo.GetOSName() == OSInfo_OSInfo_OSList.Windows7)

    replace to
    if ((OSInfo_OSInfo.GetOSName() == OSInfo_OSInfo_OSList.Windows7) || (OSInfo_OSInfo.GetOSName() == OSInfo_OSInfo_OSList.Windows2008R2))

    More info: Correct detection of OS breaked the remote.

    Others:
    Workaround till RC3: just replace the provided dll
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
  4. Spragleknas
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    Spragleknas Administrator

    Joined:
    December 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,469
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Occupied
    Location:
    Located
    Ratings:
    +1,889 / 12
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    :D
    Would be nice if users gave some feedback after testing this.
     
  5. Tuomaa

    Tuomaa Portal Pro

    Joined:
    September 21, 2007
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +89 / 0
    Home Country:
    Finland Finland
    Tested it and it works!! :D
     
  6. elliottmc
    • Team MediaPortal

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    This line was introduced in SVN 22998 to fix mantis 2278 0002278: Win7 - Microsoft MCE remote is not working - MediaPortal Bugtracker - possible (but unlikely) that modifying this could break something.

    Mark
     
  7. cpsarros

    cpsarros Portal Member

    Joined:
    January 3, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    The problem is not related with mantis 2278. It was introduced at
    Revision: 25144
    Fixed mantis #0002747: Some operating systems are wrongly detected

    Till then mediaportal was handling Windows 2008R2 the same as Windows 7.
    Although it is very easy to test/implement the provided solution (because enum OSList is not used anywhere else except Remote class ), I can't follow the official procedure for patch subsistence, since 2008R2 is not supported.
     
  8. Mouch.net

    Mouch.net Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 6, 2007
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Software Architect
    Location:
    La Calamine
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    Home Country:
    Belgium Belgium
    Show System Specs
    working fine for me too!

    :D:D:D
     
  9. infinite.loop
    • Team MediaPortal

    infinite.loop Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 26, 2004
    Messages:
    16,163
    Likes Received:
    3,861
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4,154 / 7
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    :D

    I have contacted the developer who took care about 2747.
     
  10. Kotik
    • Premium Supporter

    Kotik MP Donator

    Joined:
    March 19, 2009
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    337
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    Ratings:
    +555 / 2
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    Much harder to pin point an issue.

    Most people will go for a fresh installation anyway. At least i did, just to avoid the placebo effect of having a wrong upgrade process.

    If one wants to be sure that his issue is clearly RC2 related and not something that went wrong during the upgrade then fresh installation is the way.

    Sorry for being completely offtopic :(
     
  11. donchulio

    donchulio Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 21, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany´s Toskana
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    to the guys who use Windows Server 2008 R2:
    i´m using this os to stream tv to some clients, but having some major problems with suttering or total interrupt of tv/radio stream.

    do you have any problems like that?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!