[Bug] - [RC2]Switching HD channels fails random | Page 6

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1.1.0 RC 1 & 2' started by benjerry, April 14, 2010.

  1. benjerry
    • Premium Supporter

    benjerry MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 26, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    I've tested SD and I can confirm that I also have that problem on those channels, but much less frequent. about 1 in 30.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. arion_p
    • Premium Supporter

    arion_p Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    1,447
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Athens
    Ratings:
    +1,522 / 0
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    Just a reminder: always post full logs. This also means either remember to change log level in MediaPortal configuration to Debug, or just use "MediaPortal Debug mode" (see Forum/How_to_post_logs - MediaPortal Manual Documentation). Your logs are missing MediaPortal.log because your logging level is set to Error.
     
  4. benjerry
    • Premium Supporter

    benjerry MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 26, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Yes, I forgot to change back to debug mode again. :sorry:

    Here are new logs.
     
  5. arion_p
    • Premium Supporter

    arion_p Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    1,447
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Athens
    Ratings:
    +1,522 / 0
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    I have added an extra check for PAT version changes to ignore backward changes (e.g. 2->1) which I believe only happens due to seeking behind the channel change. Try the attached TsReader to see if it helps. Test that the issue does not happen anymore, but also test that everything else is still working properly. Some tests to consider:

    1. Zapping
    2. Watching live tv while program changes video and/or audio format
    3. Spice it up with audio selector various preferences (e.g. new show starts that has a preferred audio that did not exist in previous show)
    4. do all of the above and seek back and forth across format/channel changes.
    5. other I might have missed.
    This is only a hack but a proper solution would require big reworks in TsWriter, StreamingServer and TsReader, and frankly I don't think we can afford such big changes in MP1 anymore.
     

    Attached Files:

    • TsReader.zip
      File size:
      30.6 KB
      Uploaded:
      April 30, 2010
      Views:
      165
  6. MacGyver2k

    MacGyver2k Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 29, 2005
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    64
    Ratings:
    +64 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    First i'd like to describe my problem with switching channels.
    Very similar except it only applies to SD/MPEG2 Channels. When doing that about every 5-10th time i get a black screen, channel changes and i see the last frame of the previous channel. when skipping forward everythin works fine again.
    I never had the problem with changing channels to 720p/MPEG4 streams ( or between those streams ).

    Tried several codecs, Cyberlink, MPC-HC, ... alway the same.

    With Arions latest TsReader.ax i was able to change channels about ~70 times bevor i got a freeze, so this may be an improvement.
    Attached the logs. I pressed "RIGHT" @ 20:12:09.579400, so the channel change was right before that.

    Just for the record: had the same problems with RC1 and earlier SVNs.
     

    Attached Files:

    • server.zip
      File size:
      30.6 KB
      Uploaded:
      May 1, 2010
      Views:
      120
  7. arion_p
    • Premium Supporter

    arion_p Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    1,447
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Athens
    Ratings:
    +1,522 / 0
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    Please post your server logs as well.
     
  8. benjerry
    • Premium Supporter

    benjerry MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 26, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Hi. I'm not sure about 2&3, but did 1 and some 4 for sure.
    Result is that nothing seems to have changed here.
     
  9. arion_p
    • Premium Supporter

    arion_p Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    1,447
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Athens
    Ratings:
    +1,522 / 0
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    Please test newer version. I fear that it will break skip steps but try it anyway.
     

    Attached Files:

    • TsReader.zip
      File size:
      30.6 KB
      Uploaded:
      May 2, 2010
      Views:
      136
  10. benjerry
    • Premium Supporter

    benjerry MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 26, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    First impression, no real test/logs -
    This version made a big difference! I couldn't produce again the problem when switching live tv. :D

    However -
    1) sometimes after the black screen, shortly video of the previous channel was played before starting with the new channel.
    2) replaying by going back in buffer seems to give now 100% channelswitch fail.
    3) one time after I think a format change during watching ITV1 HD I had largely out of sync audio.
     
  11. MacGyver2k

    MacGyver2k Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 29, 2005
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    64
    Ratings:
    +64 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    tried your new tsreader.ax, but at least no improvement here.
    maybe one time: i got the frozen frame of the last channel, but then i got artifacts and the new stream continued.
    but still about 10% of the channel changes lead to the frozen frame.

    the last channel change was to "RTL TELEVISION" @ 19:48:25, i pressed "right" on the remote about 15 seconds later.


    some other stuff i tested yesterday:
    - on another client i changed channels for about 300 times, i never got a frozen picture.
    - in UNC mode i never got a frozen picture on both machines, but a constant stuttering on both clients.
    - the client i have the frozen pictures is a win7 32bit ION System ( Geforce 9400 / 2x1.92 Ghz Atom CPU / Indilinx SSD / 4 GB Ram )
    - the client i have no problems is a Win7 64Bit System ( Geforce 7600GS / 4x 2.7Ghz Intel Q6600 / Intel SSD / 4GB Ram )
    - both machines running same codecs and MP RC2 with same plugins
    - network is gigabit // tv server should be fast enough ( athon dual core 5050e )

    :edit:
    i do think the problem is less frequent with this version.
    this time i changed channels for about ~70 times, 2 times i got a frozen channel but then a continuing stream, and only one time it stopped completely. ( the attached logs are from the first test )...
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!