Reduce storage size of 'thumbs' folder (MovPic + TVSeries) | Page 5

Discussion in 'Moving Pictures' started by RoChess, January 6, 2010.

  1. RoChess
    • Premium Supporter

    RoChess Extension Developer

    Joined:
    March 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,182
    Likes Received:
    1,304
    Ratings:
    +1,683 / 2
    Yes, the SVN already contains many fixes, so you can compile that one yourself if you are not patient enough to wait :D

    Since this thread might get burried into the forum again and hard for people to find, I will add it into the FAQ until the problem is fixed in the next beta/stable release.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. TheBiGW

    TheBiGW Portal Member

    Joined:
    October 1, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Just want to add my voice to the others who have said thanks and to say that it has massively improved the speed at which my machine is able to browse TV and movies via moving pictures. I've got an Asrock ION 330 and it is very much limited by I/O. CPU/RAM/Network is fine. Reducing the amount of I/O the drive has to do when navigating movie and tv shows has significantly improved the experience. Looking forward to the day when this change can be integrated into the trunk and is done as default.
     
  4. RoChess
    • Premium Supporter

    RoChess Extension Developer

    Joined:
    March 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,182
    Likes Received:
    1,304
    Ratings:
    +1,683 / 2
    :D for the thanks, it's always nice to be reminded that even small contributions like this help make things easier for somebody else out there as well.

    Releasing a new open beta is a tough call, because some users still expect some stability. If 10 problems are fixed, such as Blu-Ray playback and this large image problem, but a user never encountered those as a problem, then they are going to be upset if a new problem got introduced on something that they do use.

    If you are impatient enough, and you see that your main aggrivations have been fixed, you can use the Wiki and Google Code sites to get the help needed to setup your own developer environment that you can use to build your own version from code.

    The current beta2 is v1.0.1:1001, which is marked in the source repository @ Moving Pictures Revision #1002 (it is actually 1001 of course, but you can scan the overview list easier by looking for "Tag for xxxx release" subject)

    Right now 37 new changes (not all are fixes) have already been made, and currently the source is at revision 1039. An easy overview can be viewed via: Moving Pictures Revision Overview
     
  5. hanfmaster

    hanfmaster Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 25, 2006
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    graz
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    hi

    how do i know that this thumbs reduce .cmd is running?
    and when it is done.
    i just get a command screen and than it closes in less than a second.
     
  6. RoChess
    • Premium Supporter

    RoChess Extension Developer

    Joined:
    March 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,182
    Likes Received:
    1,304
    Ratings:
    +1,683 / 2
    Did it generate the log file? Or are you trying to start the CMD file without the XnView software in the same folder? It requires "nconvert.exe" to work, as explained in the install instructions in first post.
     
  7. hanfmaster

    hanfmaster Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 25, 2006
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    graz
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    i got a nconvert folder and in this folder there is a folder called XnView
    so i now tried putting !mediaportal fix thumbs.cmd! in both folders , but i got no log file in neither of them.

    so i looked in the tast manager to see if somthing is using the cpu, but nada...
     
  8. RoChess
    • Premium Supporter

    RoChess Extension Developer

    Joined:
    March 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,182
    Likes Received:
    1,304
    Ratings:
    +1,683 / 2
    Download the ZIP file from first post, extract it, and you should have an 'nconvert.exe' file along with a bunch of text files. Place the CMD file in this same folder and it should work.

    The only other explanation I got is that you have some weird custom paths that mess the script up, just edit the CMD file with notepad to correct that manually then.

    And upon looking at my script, I see that I totally forgot to include a pause/delay after showing the error message (my bad).

    Read this for what to adjust: Paste2: Next Generation Pastebin - Viewing Paste 676576

    After dinner I will fix the batch file to properly pause/delay after showing the error and update the first post.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. hanfmaster

    hanfmaster Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 25, 2006
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    graz
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Show System Specs
    good morning... i got a good night sleep so here is the full story

    i use winXP pro GERMAN OS + mediaportal 1.1 beta on my htpc in server/client mode
    i installed the new MP-TVSeries-2.5.0.924.exe
    and after reboot mediaportal took over 30min by loadingscreen by "caching graphics"
    so i looked in the forum and got to this thread.

    in the cmd:
    ----------------------------------------------------
    SET ThumbFolder=%ProgramData%\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal
    IF EXIST "%ThumbFolder%\MediaPortal.xml" GOTO ProcessThumbs

    SET ThumbFolder=%AllUsersProfile%\Application Data\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal
    IF EXIST "%ThumbFolder%\MediaPortal.xml" GOTO ProcessThumbs
    -----------------------------------------------------

    i had to change it to
    ----------------------------------------------------
    SET ThumbFolder=C:\Programme\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal
    IF EXIST "%ThumbFolder%\MediaPortal.xml" GOTO ProcessThumbs

    SET ThumbFolder=C:\Dokumente und Einstellungen\All Users\Anwendungsdaten\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal
    IF EXIST "%ThumbFolder%\MediaPortal.xml" GOTO ProcessThumbs
    ------------------------------------------------------

    and now the .cmd is running :)

    thx RoChess

    PS: i like the now look of Tv-series with the big pic of the show i just picked on the left side, the small ones were a pain for my eyes :)
     
  10. Jeditrav

    Jeditrav Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    20
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi,

    this is not working for me. The log keeps saying 'could not be processed. Try fixing it manually', and the cmd window says 'Error: Can't create file <C:\DOCUME~1\Zalman\LOCALS~1\Temp\MovPic.png>'. I'm using WinXP 32bit, MediaPortal and everything is installed in default folders. Practically everything is 'oversized' and I would like to be able to use this app to reduce.
    Does anybody have any ideas?? :confused:
     

    Attached Files:

    • error.JPG
      error.JPG
      File size:
      69.4 KB
      Uploaded:
      February 27, 2010
      Views:
      86
  11. RoChess
    • Premium Supporter

    RoChess Extension Developer

    Joined:
    March 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,182
    Likes Received:
    1,304
    Ratings:
    +1,683 / 2
    Run the Windows tool All Programs -> Accessories -> System Tools -> Disk Cleanup

    to clean out all your temporary files.

    And run a pre-boot chkdsk scan on your harddisk (you can schedule them when disk is in use). I've seen this problem before when there was a problem on the HDD index.

    Go to that "C:\DOCUME~1\Zalman\LOCALS~1\Temp\" folder manually otherwise, it should normally be empty, perhaps problem reveals itself easier then, but the above methods with Disk Cleanup and a chkdsk pre-boot scan might be all u need.

    Forced Pre-Boot chkdsk = Start -> Run -> chkdsk c: /f /x [enter]

    Then you will get the following message:

    Code (Text):
    1. Cannot lock current drive.
    2.  
    3. Chkdsk cannot run because the volume is in use by another
    4. process.  Would you like to schedule this volume to be
    5. checked the next time the system restarts? (Y/N)
    Select 'Y' and reboot your system.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!