[confirm] - Refresh Rate change after standby

Discussion in '1.6.x' started by mhoogenbosch, January 25, 2014.

  1. mhoogenbosch
    • Premium Supporter

    mhoogenbosch MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 21, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Consultancy
    Location:
    Utrecht, Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +70 / 2
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Okay, don't know for sure if this is a bug or not but i wanted to know if we can do something about this.

    I'm using MePo 1.6, and have a Sharp 46" 1080p LCD. I have dynamic refresh rate enabled and have set the default to PALHD which is 50hz.



    When i'm watching a movie it switches to 24hz and runs fine. If i manually stop the movie it switches back to 50hz.

    But! If i'm watching a movie and press the powerbutton so the system goes to sleep, it wakes up with the 24hz setting still active. It referts to the movie details, doesn't resume playback (which i find just fine!) but my wife now want's to watch TV, the system doesn't switch to 50hz when the tv comes online. Obiously this results in bad playback.

    If i would start a movie, and stop it, then it reverts to 50hz. And the playback of the TV is smooth again?

    Does this make sense?

    I've added logs where these events take place.

    Sart mepo (50hz)
    Start movie (24hz)
    standby
    resume
    watch tv (24hz)
     

    Attached Files:

    • MePo16.zip
      File size:
      123.2 KB
      Uploaded:
      January 25, 2014
      Views:
      133
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    That's weird, because when i push the system into S3, it triggers a stop:
     
  4. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,270
    Likes Received:
    6,221
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,229 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Maybe we need to check stop when audio is removed but not sure :)
     
  5. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    It seems to trigger the STOP (according to logs that is), and it tried the same for @mhoogenbosch but somehow it failed:
    No clue if WifiRemote is interfering, but that's throwing some errors:

     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. mhoogenbosch
    • Premium Supporter

    mhoogenbosch MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 21, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Consultancy
    Location:
    Utrecht, Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +70 / 2
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    The wifi remote triggers this error message always, and has always done this. I've just reverted back to 1.6 pre release (this is without wifi remote), and will do the same testing. I'll let you know.

    Seems to be some timing issue? The standby action is faster then the option to swtich back to 50hz?!
     
  7. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    My HTPC runs with an i7-860, not sure if yours is faster? But looking at the log times, this all happens in a split-ms.

    Does this always happen, or could this have been a 'hiccup' somehow?
     
  8. mhoogenbosch
    • Premium Supporter

    mhoogenbosch MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 21, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Consultancy
    Location:
    Utrecht, Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +70 / 2
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Yours is a lot faster for sure, mine is a i3 370m, 2,4ghz. So that's not the issue.

    It happens always, only don't know for how long and which versions. Haven't noticed it since recently.
     
  9. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
  10. mhoogenbosch
    • Premium Supporter

    mhoogenbosch MP Donator

    Joined:
    April 21, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Consultancy
    Location:
    Utrecht, Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +70 / 2
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Nope, only a TV i do have an Onkyo receiver if it matters..
     
  11. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Shouldn't matter, got 1 in between also.
    Something behaves different on your system for sure. Have you tried using the 'force' option?
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!