Releasing MediaPortal 2 Alpha version | Page 9

Discussion in 'General' started by Albert, March 2, 2012.

  1. Pigwoz

    Pigwoz Portal Member

    Joined:
    February 20, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1 / 1
    Home Country:
    Poland Poland
    Great job!
    Is any way to configure LAV codec in MP2?


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. kilik360
    • Premium Supporter

    kilik360 MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 3, 2010
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    155
    Ratings:
    +239 / 2
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Show System Specs
    Wow, one word,,, GREAT !!! The first thing I saw was that this MP2 is really heavy on my GT420. As soon MP2 starts, my GPU is 100% full load and the fan too. With MP1 the hottest temperature I get was 80C and in MP2 it jumps to 93C in 10 sec. Am I the only affected ? Besides of that, WOw can't wait the Beta and/or V.1.0.

    Keep up the good work guys.
     
  4. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    @kilik360

    Thats a high temperatures for just running MP1 or 2, my gt220 stays around 37-40C (idle 30) and the fan never rises in speed playing 1080p, using LAV or M$ filters.
     
  5. pmwolf

    pmwolf Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 30, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    OK let me first say that so far it looks nice but I do have some problems with it.

    • First the GUI based configuration.
      • While I understand that it is nice to be able to do everything through a single GUI, having a nice configuration setup similar to what MP1 has would be great.
    • Second it does not seem to handle shares with a lot of folders very well.
      • I configured it to hook up to one of my remote shares that have around 108 sub folders.
      • When I go to Browse Media button to get a browse that share only 9 folders show up. This may be due to the fact that it is an alpha release but if not let me know what I am doing wrong.
    • As others have said it would be nice to turn off features that you don't want, such as collecting metadata or pictures ect..
    • Also it gives my local server a funny name. It would be nice if we could rename the server

    Other then those points so far it looks good.
     
  6. SiLenTYL
    • Premium Supporter

    SiLenTYL Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,144
    Likes Received:
    144
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +153 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
    it does take some time to update the folder database.. and it does it sequentially.. in the order u chose to add them .. so i have like 1000 videos and 10000 songs... the songs didnt populate untill all the videos were populated.. give it some time lol
     
  7. tourettes
    • Premium Supporter

    tourettes Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 7, 2005
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    4,595
    Ratings:
    +4,810 / 3
    Some sort of dynamic priorisation for the import items in the future would be good to have to allow better user experience. Of course the ideal case is that the server has all the metadata scraped in the background already before the user even thinks about entering the views.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. SiLenTYL
    • Premium Supporter

    SiLenTYL Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    April 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,144
    Likes Received:
    144
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ratings:
    +153 / 0
    Home Country:
    Australia Australia
  9. Jelleeelco

    Jelleeelco New Member

    Joined:
    February 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    First of all, congrats on a great alpha release. Its a complete different look & feel than MP1; much faster.

    One quick question though. In MP1 I could setup the sound in for each source differently: tv via HDMI, video via optical, etc. Is it true that this functionality has been left out? Or do I miss something in settings?

    Many thanks,
    Jelle
     
  10. Albert
    • Premium Supporter

    Albert MP2 Developer

    Joined:
    February 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Dipl.-Inform.
    Location:
    Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
    Ratings:
    +1,130 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Hi Jelle,
    yes, that functionality is not present in MP2. For my personal usage, it is not necessary. How do you use that function? What is your use-case?
     
  11. FreakyJ
    • Team MediaPortal

    FreakyJ Development Group

    Joined:
    July 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4,021
    Likes Received:
    839
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,424 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    oh yeah that would be great! The best would be to do that without restarting MP :)

    My use-case:
    watching Tv with the tv speakers is fine but Music I want to hear with bass so I need my Amp which has an optical input :)
    Sometime I also just hear radio with my tv speakers an suddenly I want to hear Music louder and in nice quality so I want to switch easily to my amp...
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!